Search Menu

The Oklahoma Senate Agriculture and Wildlife Committee is considering a bill on Monday, February 8, to remove the commercial breeder reporting requirements.

Under current law, “commercial breeders” are defined as those who possess “11 or more intact females for the purpose of breeding…. or direct or indirect sale or exchange…” Those who meet this definition must comply with a number of requirements, including providing an annual report to the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry.  This report must include the number of intact females held at each facility at the end of the year, as well as “such other information regarding the commercial pet breeder’s prior year’s operations as required by the Department.”

Senate Bill 547 as introduced would remove the reporting requirement.

Those who wish to comment on this legislation may do so by contacting the members of the committee prior to the February 8 hearing.  If you are a constituent of one of the committee members, click the link below to directly contact them.

Sen. Casey Murdock, Chair (Felt)
casey.murdock@oksenate.gov

Sen. Roland Pederson, Vice Chair (Burlington)
roland.pederson@oksenate.gov

Sen. Mary Boren (Norman)
mary.boren@oksenate.gov

Sen. David Bullard (Durant)
david.bullard@oksenate.gov

Sen. J.J. Dossett (Owasso)
jj.dossett@oksenate.gov

Sen. Tom Dugger (Stillwater)
tom.dugger@oksenate.gov

Sen. Chuck Hall (Perry)
chuck.hall@oksenate.gov

Sen. Brent Howard (Altus)
brent.howard@oksenate.gov

Sen. Chris Kidd (Waurika)
chris.kidd@oksenate.gov

Sen. James Leewright (Bristow)
james.leewright@oksenate.gov

Sen. Dewayne Pemberton (Muskogee)
dewayne.pemberton@oksenate.gov

Sen. Blake Stephens (Tahlequah)
blake.stephens@oksenate.gov

Sen. George Burns (Pollard)
George.burns@oksenate.gov

AKC Government Relations will continue to monitor this legislation.  For questions or more information on Oklahoma legislative issues, contact doglaw@akc.org.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you