Search Menu

The Oak Grove City Council could hold a second and enacting vote on changes to the city’s animal ordinance at its regular city council meeting tomorrow, May 19, 2020, at 6:00 p.m.  Neither the meeting agenda nor the text of the proposed ordinance were available at the time this legislative alert was released.  Therefore, it is unknown if the ordinance will appear on Tuesday’s agenda or what provisions the revised version includes.

An early draft of the ordinance included enhanced vicious dog language, amended animal cruelty provisions, additional limits on tethering dogs, increased fees and penalties, and other provisions. AKC Government Relations submitted comments on an early draft of the ordinance, but has not received or reviewed more recent versions.

When available, a copy of the current version of the ordinance can be requested by emailing the City Clerk at comperrya@oakgroveky.org or by visiting Oak Grove City Hall.

Residents of Oak Grove are urged to contact their elected officials for additional information about the ordinance and to discuss the provisions it contains.

Oak Grove City Council and Mayor:

Jean Leavell, jean.leavell@oakgroveky.org
Janet Edwards, janet.edwards@oakgroveky.org
Kisha Jeffrey-Mische, kisha.jeffrey@oakgroveky.org
Jackie Oliver, jackie.oliver@oakgroveky.org
Jim McKnight, james.mcknight@oakgroveky.org
Isaiah Spencer, Isaiah.spencer@oakgroveky.org
Mayor Theresa Jarvis, theresa.jarvis@oakgroveky.org

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will provide updates on the Oak Grove proposal as developments occur.  For additional information, please contact AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3720.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you