Search Menu

May 24, 2019

The New York Assembly Environmental Conservation Committee will consider a bill on Wednesday, May 29, that would prohibit any contest, competition, or tournament where the objective is taking or hunting wildlife for prizes or entertainment.

Assembly Bill 722 exempts certain field trials including field trials in dog training areas, so long as no game are taken or killed. The bills would still prevent other competitions in the state when wildlife is killed.

In the official memo for the bill, it states that “competitions or contests such as these are inhumane and provide incentive to killing animals for glory, prizes or titles. They are different from the average hunting experience since they are often rigged with animals that cannot escape. In many cases, these competitions are conducted in a party-like atmosphere and are more like slaughters or massacres and are unsportsmanlike.  These competitions would be considered cruel by a typical hunter and promote excessive and unnecessary killing of wildlife.”

Those who participate in hunt trials, performance events, and hunting activities in New York are strongly encouraged to contact the committee.  Respectfully educate them about your events (including the positive economic impact on the community from participants), conservation efforts, the humane treatment of animals during the events, and how these bills would impact your club.

The committee contact information is below.  If you are a constituent or participate in events in their district, be sure to mention that when contacting the committee members.

Steve Englebright, Chair (East Setauket)
District Office: 631-751-3094
Albany Office: 518-455-4804
EngleS@nyassembly.gov

Thomas Abinanti (Tarrytown)
District Office: 914-631-1605
Albany Office: 518-455-5753
abinantit@nyassembly.gov

Didi Barrett (Poughkeepsie)
District Office: 845-454-1703
Albany Office: 518-455-5177
barrettd@nyassembly.gov

Pat Burke (West Seneca)
District Office: 716-608-6099
Albany Office: 518-455-4691
burkep@nyassembly.gov

Robert C. Carroll (Brooklyn)
District Office: 718-788-7221
Albany Office: 518-455-5377
CarrollR@nyassembly.gov

William Colton (Brooklyn)
District Office: 718-236-1598
Albany Office: 518-455-5828
ColtonW@nyassembly.gov

Marcos A. Crespo (Bronx)
District Office: 718-893-0202
Albany Office: 518-455-5514
CrespoM@nyassembly.gov

Steven Cymbrowitz (Brooklyn)
District Office: 718-743-4078
Albany Office: 518-455-5214
CymbroS@nyassembly.gov

Anthony D’Urso (Great Neck)
District Office: 516-482-6966
Albany Office: 518-455-5192
dursoa@nyassembly.gov

Harvey Epstein (Manhattan)
District Office: 212-979-9696
Albany Office:  518-455-5506
epsteinh@nyassembly.gov

Patricia Fahy (Albany)
Albany Office: 518-455-4178
FahyP@nyassembly.gov

Deborah J. Glick (sponsor of A. 722) (Manhattan)
District Office: 212-674-5153
Albany Office: 518-455-4841
GlickD@nyassembly.gov 

Judy Griffin (Rockville Centre)
District Office: 516-561-8216
Albany Office: 518-455-4656
griffinj@nyassembly.gov

Aileen M. Gunther (Monticello)
District Office: 845-794-5807
Albany Office: 518-455-5355
GuntheA@nyassembly.gov

Ellen Jaffee (Pearl River)
District Office: 845-624-4601
Albany Office: 518-455-5118
JaffeeE@nyassembly.gov

Barbara Lifton (Ithaca)
District Office: 607-277-8030
Albany Office: 518-455-5444
LiftonB@nyassembly.gov

Michael LiPetri (Massapequa Park)
District Office: 516-541-4598
Albany Office: 518-455-5305
lipetrim@nyassembly.gov

Brian D. Miller (New Hartford)
District Office: 315-736-3879
Albany Office: 518-455-5334
millerb@nyassembly.gov

Melissa Miller (Atlantic Beach)
District Office: 516-431-0500
Albany Office: 518-455-3028
MillerML@nyassembly.gov

Daniel J. O’Donnell (Manhattan)
District Office: 212-866-3970
Albany Office: 518-455-5603
OdonnellD@nyassembly.gov

Steven Otis (Port Chester)
District Office: 914-939-7028
Albany Office: 518-455-4897
OtisS@nyassembly.gov

Anthony H. Palumbo (Riverhead)
District Office: 631-727-0204
Albany Office: 518-455-5294
palumboa@nyassembly.gov

Andrew P. Raia (Northport)
District Office: 631-261-4151
Albany Office: 518-455-5952
RaiaA@nyassembly.gov

Jamie Romeo (Rochester)
District Office: 585-467-0410
Albany Office: 518-455-5373
romeoj@nyassembly.gov

Sean Ryan (Buffalo)
District Office: 716-885-9630
Albany Office: 518-455-4886
RyanS@nyassembly.gov

Robert Smullen (Herkimer)
District Office: 315-866-1632
Albany Office: 518-455-5393
smullenr@nyassembly.gov

Dan Stec (Elizabethtown)
District Office: 518-873-3803
Albany Office: 518-455-5565
StecD@nyassembly.gov

Chris Tague (Catskill)
District Office: 518-295-7250
Albany Office: 518-455-5363
taguec@nyassembly.gov

Fred W. Thiele, Jr. (Bridgehampton)
District Office: 631-537-2583
Albany Office: 518-455-5997
ThieleF@nyassembly.gov

Jaime R. Williams (Brooklyn)
District Office: 718-252-2124
Albany Office: 518-455-5211
williamsja@nyassembly.gov

AKC continues to watch these and all New York bills impacting dog owners, breeders, and sportsmen, and will provide updates as they are available.  For additional questions, contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org.

 

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you