Search Menu

Friday, January 25, 2019

The American Kennel Club (AKC) is pleased to support North Dakota House Bill 1128.  The bill seeks to provide for funding for the training of service dogs to assist some of the state’s veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder.  All North Dakota residents are encouraged to join in support of the bill.

AKC’s POSITION ON THE USE OF DOGS FOR ASSISTANCE AND SERVICE:  The American Kennel Club strongly supports the training and use of dogs to provide assistance and service to humans.  Dogs provide valuable service as: seeing eye dogs; hearing dogs; therapy dogs; handicapped assistance dogs; drug, bomb, and arson detection dogs; and tracking dogs to locate missing persons and fugitives.

As currently written, HB 1128 would appropriate $50,000 to the State Department of Veterans’ Affairs for training up to four service dogs to assist North Dakota veterans having posttraumatic stress disorder.

BILL STATUS:  The bill is scheduled to be considered by the House Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, January 30, 2019.  All North Dakota residents are encouraged to join in support of the bill.  Email the committee members below and let them know you support HB 1128.

Representative Jeff Delzer, Chairman
Email:  jdelzer@nd.gov

Representative Keith Kempenich, Vice Chairman
Email:  kkempenich@nd.gov

Representative Bert Anderson
Email:  bertanderson@nd.gov

Representative Thomas Beadle
Email:  tbeadle@nd.gov

Representative Larry Bellew
Email:  lbellew@nd.gov

Representative Tracy Boe
Email:  tboe@nd.gov

Representative Mike Brandenburg
Email:  mbrandenburg@nd.gov

Representative Richard G. Holman
Email:  rholman@nd.gov

Representative Michael Howe
Email:  mchowe@nd.gov

Representative Gary Kreidt
Email:  gkreidt@nd.gov

Representative Bob Martinson
Email:  bmartinson@nd.gov

Representative Lisa Meier
Email:  lmeier@nd.gov

Representative Corey Mock
Email:  crmock@nd.gov

Representative David Monson
Email:  dmonson@nd.gov

Representative Mike Nathe
Email: mrnathe@nd.gov

Representative Jon O. Nelson
Email: jonelson@nd.gov

Representative Mark Sanford
Email: masanford@nd.gov

Representative Mike Schatz
Email: mischatz@nd.gov

Representative Jim Schmidt
Email: jeschmidt@nd.gov

Representative Randy A. Schobinger
Email: rschobinger@nd.gov

Representative Don Vigesaa
Email: dwvigesaa@nd.gov

For more information on North Dakota HB 1128 or other pending legislation, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or email doglaw@akc.org.

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you