Search Menu

May 22, 2015

The New York Senate Transportation Committee is considering a bill on Thursday, May 28 that would allow companion animals on commuter transportation when a state of emergency has been declared and an area is being evacuated.

This bill, sponsored by Sen. Andrew Lanza of Staten Island, is very similar to Senate Bill 3850, which AKC also supports. SB 3850 addressed the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.  Senate Bill 3321, which is scheduled for consideration on Thursday, would allow companion animals on all commuter transportation, including railroads, ferries, airplanes, buses, and other forms of transportation operated by the metropolitan transportation authority, in certain circumstances when there is a state of emergency.

AKC supports both measures and is especially pleased that SB 3321 would allow dog owners throughout the state the ability to ensure the safety and care of their pets during emergency situations. 

Summary:

Senate Bill 3321 would allow owners to take companion animals on commuter transportation during official states of emergency, so long as the animal is under the owner’s control (tether, leash, “appropriate container”, or “other suitable means”), and the boarding is consistent with local emergency plans.  It only applies to owners who are evacuating the region affected by the emergency. 

The bill does allow for a domestic animal to be refused if there is a health or safety hazard.  Passengers with service animals will be provided priority seating, and passengers must be given seating before a companion animal is given a seat.

What You Can Do:

  • Contact your state senator and ask them to support Senate Bill 3321.  Visit www.nysenate.gov and enter your address in the “Find My Senator” box or visit AKC's new Legislative Action Center and enter your address in the “Find Your Elected Officials” box to find the name and contact information for your State Senator. 

 

  • Contact the NY Senate Committee on Corporations, Authorities and Commissions before their hearing at 9:30 am on Thursday, May 28, and ask them to support Senate Bill 3321.  If you are a constituent, be sure to mention that when contacting them.

         Sen. Joseph Robach, Chair (Dist. 56- Rochester)
         Phone (Albany): (518) 455-2909
         Phone (Rochester): (585) 225-3650
         E-mail: robach@nysenate.gov

         Sen. Carl Marcellino, Vice-Chair (Dist. 5- Oyster Bay)
         Phone (Albany): (518) 455-2390
         Phone (Oyster Bay): (516) 922-1811
         E-mail: marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

         Sen. Tony Avella (Dist. 11 – Bayside)
         Phone (Albany): 518-455-2210
         Phone (Bayside): 718-357-3094
         E-mail: Avella@nysenate.gov

        Sen. Ruben Diaz (Dist. 32 – Bronx)
        Phone (Albany):  (518) 455-2511
        Phone (Bronx): (718) 991-3161
        E-mail: diaz@nysenate.gov

        Sen. Martin Malave Dilan (Dist. 18 – Brooklyn)
        Phone (Albany):  (518) 455-2177
        Phone (Brooklyn): (718) 573-1726
        E-mail: dilan@nysenate.gov

        Sen. Patrick Gallivan (Dist. 59 – Elma)
        Phone (Albany):  518-455-3471
        Phone (Elma): 716-656-8544
        E-mail: gallivan@nysenate.gov

       Sen. Timothy Kennedy (Dist. 63 – Buffalo)
       Phone (Albany):  518-455-2426
       Phone (Buffalo): 716-826-2683
       E-mail: kennedy@nysenate.gov

       Sen. William Larkin, Jr. (Dist. 39 – New Windsor)
       Phone (Albany):  (518) 455-2770
       Phone (New Windsor): (845) 567-1270
       E-mail: larkin@senate.state.ny.us

       Sen. Jack Martins (Dist. 7 – Mineola)
       Phone (Albany): 518-455-3265
       Phone (Mineola): 516-746-5924
       E-mail: martins@nysenate.gov

       Sen. Michael Nozzolio (Dist. 54 – Seneca Falls)
       Phone (Albany): (518) 455-2366
       Phone (Seneca Falls): 1-888-568-9816
       E-mail: nozzolio@nysenate.gov

       Sen. Thomas O’Mara (Dist. 58 – Bath/Elmira)
       Phone (Albany): 518-455-2091
       Phone (Elmira): 607-735-9671
       Phone: (Bath): 607-776-3201
       E-mail: omara@nysenate.gov

       Sen. Marc Panepinto (Dist. 60 – Buffalo)
       Phone (Albany): (518) 455-2760
       Phone (Buffalo): (716) 854-8705
       E-mail: Panepinto@nysenate.gov

      Sen. Bill Perkins (Dist. 30- Harlem)
      Phone (Albany): 518-455-2441
      Phone (New York City): 212-222-7315
      E-mail: perkins@senate.state.ny.us

     Sen. Michael Ranzenhofer (Dist. 61 – Williamsville)
     Phone (Albany): (518) 455-3161
     Phone (Williamsville): (716) 631-8695 / (585) 454-0322
     E-mail: ranz@senate.state.ny.us

     Sen. Patty Ritchie (Dist. 48 – Watertown/Oswego/Ogdensburg)
     Phone (Albany): 315-782-3418
     Phone: Visit http://www.nysenate.gov/senator/patty-ritchie/contact for contact information for district offices
     E-mail: Ritchie@nysenate.gov

     Sen. Daniel Squadron (Dist. 26- Brooklyn)
     Phone (Albany): 518-455-2625
     Phone (New York City): 212-298-5565
     E-mail: squadron@nysenate.gov

     Sen. Toby Ann Stavisky (Dist. 16 – Flushing)
     Phone (Albany): (518) 455-3461
     Phone (Flushing):  (718) 445-0004
     E-mail: stavisky@nysenate.gov

    Sen. David Valesky (Dist. 53 – Syracuse)
    Phone (Albany): (518)-455-2838
    Phone (Syracuse): (315)-478-8745
    E-mail: valesky@nysenate.gov

   Sen. Catharine Young (Dist. 57 – Olean/Jamestown)
   Phone (Albany): 518-455-3563
   Phone (Olean): 716-372-4901
   E-mail: cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

The AKC will continue to monitor this legislation and provide additional updates.  For questions or more information, contact AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org

The New York Senate Transportation Committee is considering a bill on Thursday, May 28 that would allow companion animals on commuter transportation when a state of emergency has been declared and an area is being evacuated.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you