Search Menu

The Nevada Senate Commerce and Labor Committee is considering a bill on Wednesday, February 24, that would prohibit homeowner’s insurance providers from refusing or cancelling coverage or increasing premiums based solely on the breed of dog owned by the policy holder.

All responsible dog owners and breeders in Nevada are encouraged to contact the committee to express your support for Senate Bill 103.  Scroll down for more information.

Summary:
Senate Bill 103 prohibits insurers from refusing to issue, renew or cancel or raise premiums for homeowner’s insurance based on breed of dog (or mixed-breed) owned by the policyholder. The bill does allow for insurance companies to take these actions if the dog has been declared dangerous based on current law, but the company may not ask what breed of dog the policy holder owns.

Nevada state law already expressly prohibits municipalities from passing laws that target specific breeds of dogs.  AKC supports Senate Bill 103, which would extend these protections to homeowners, while still holding all dog owners accountable, regardless of the breed they choose to own.

Visit the Breed-Specific/Dangerous Dog Laws key issues page in the AKC Legislative Action Center for more talking points on this issue.

What You Can Do:

Submit comments to the committee before the February 24 hearing.  You may submit comments online using this official form.

Contact the members of the committee and ask them to support Senate Bill 103.  If you are a constituent of a member of the committee, use the form provided to enter your comments and directly contact them.  The full committee list is as follows:

Pat Spearman – Chair (Clark County)
Pat.Spearman@sen.state.nv.us

Dina Neal – Vice Chair (Clark County)
Dina.Neal@sen.state.nv.us

Melanie Scheible (Clark County)
Melanie.Scheible@sen.state.nv.us

Roberta Lange (Clark County)
Roberta.Lange@sen.state.nv.us

Joseph P. Hardy (Clark County)
Joe.Hardy@sen.state.nv.us

James A. Settelmeyer (Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Storey Counties)
James.Settelmeyer@sen.state.nv.us

Keith F. Pickard (Clark County)
Keith.Pickard@sen.state.nv.us

AKC Government Relations will continue to closely follow this bill.  For questions or more information, contact the AKC GR at doglaw@akc.org

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you