Search Menu

The Missouri House Emerging Issues Committee will consider a bill on Monday, February 8, that seeks to protect the rights of responsible dog owners in Missouri by prohibiting municipalities from enacting breed-specific policies.  It would also void any current local breed-specific policies or regulations in the state.  

Municipalities would still be permitted to protect public health and safety by enacting other policies (including policies for at-large dogs), so long as these laws do not target specific breeds. 

Talking Points:

The AKC supports House Bill 1811, which protects the rights of dog owners while still allowing communities to enact laws that hold all owners accountable.  Seventeen states currently have laws that prohibit breed-specific legislation.  Visit the Breed-Specific/Dangerous Dog Laws page in the AKC Legislative Action Center for more talking points on this issue.

What You Can Do:

All who reside or participate in dog events in Missouri are encouraged to contact the House Emerging Issues Committee and ask them to support House Bill 1811:

Rep. Elijah Haahr, Chair
Phone: 573-751-2210
E-mail: Elijah.Haahr@house.mo.gov

Rep. Gary Cross, Vice Chair
Phone: 573-751-1459
E-mail: Gary.Cross@house.mo.gov

Rep. Jeremy LaFaver, Ranking Minority Member
Phone: 573-751-2437
E-mail: Jeremy.LaFaver@house.mo.gov

Rep. Jack Bondon
Phone: 573-751-2175
E-mail: Jack.Bondon@house.mo.gov

Rep. Mike Colona
Phone: 573-751-6736
E-mail: Mike.Colona@house.mo.gov

Rep. Jim Hansen
Phone: 573-751-4028
E-mail: Jim.Hansen@house.mo.gov

Rep. Ron Hicks
Phone: 573-751-1470
E-mail: Ron.Hicks@house.mo.gov

Rep. Bill Lant
Phone: 573-751-9801 
E-mail: Bill.Lant@house.mo.gov

Rep. Dave Muntzel
Phone: 573-751-9801
E-mail: Dave.Muntzel@house.mo.gov

Rep. Sharon Pace
Phone: 573-751-4726
E-mail: Sharon.Pace@house.mo.gov

Rep. Caleb Rowden
Phone: 573-751-1169
E-mail: Caleb.Rowden@house.mo.gov

Rep. Anne Zerr
Phone: 573-751-3717 
E-mail: Anne.Zerr@house.mo.gov

AKC Government Relations will continue to closely monitor this legislation and provide more information as it becomes available.  For questions or more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

The Missouri House Emerging Issues Committee will consider a bill on Monday, February 8, that seeks to protect the rights of responsible dog owners in Missouri by prohibiting municipalities from enacting breed-specific policies. It would also void any current local breed-specific policies or regulations in the state. The AKC supports Senate Bill 1811, which protects the rights of dog owners while still allowing communities to enact laws that hold all owners accountable.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you