Search Menu

The Missouri House Local Government Committee considered two bills on Thursday, January 27, that would prohibit local municipalities from enacting breed-specific laws in the state. During the hearing several members of the committee expressed concerns about prohibiting breed-specific laws.

It is important for clubs and those who participate in dog events in Missouri to contact the committee and respectfully ask them to support House Bills 1588 and 1657.  Let them know that breed-neutral laws are the most effective in ensuring public safety.  Read AKC’s previous alert for more information on these bills.

AKC supports House Bill 1588 and House Bill 1657. Earlier this week it was believed these bills could be amended to include mandatory spay and neuter language but thankfully no negative amendments were added.

These bills are an important step in protecting the rights of responsible dog owners, as many localities throughout the state have breed-specific policies.  These bills will protect public safety by allowing general laws regarding dogs to be implemented, but also allow Missouri residents to responsibly own the dog of their choice. Visit the Breed-Specific/Dangerous Dog Laws key issue page in the AKC Legislative Action Center for more talking points on this issue.

How to Help:

Dog owners in Missouri should contact the members of the House Local Government Committee to help them better understand why breed specific bans are ineffective and unfair to responsible dog owners and respectfully ask them to support House Bills 1588 and 1657.

Send email comments or make phone calls to the committee members listed below and if you are a constituent of any of these legislators be sure to share this information with them when you make contact:

House Local Government Committee:

Vice Chair Representative Bill Falkner (Buchanan County)
Phone: (573) 751-9755

Representative Jamie Burger (Scott and Mississippi Counties)
Phone: (573) 751-5471

Representative Craig Fishel (Springfield and Greene Counties)
Phone: (573) 751-0232

Representative Brad Hudson (Christian and Taney Counties)
Phone: (573) 751-3851

Representative Chad Perkins (Ralls, Monroe, Lincoln and Pike Counties)
Phone: (573) 751-402

Representative Randy Railsback (Caldwell, Ray, Clay and Clinton Counties)
Phone (573) 751-0246

Representative Rodger Reedy (Henry, Benton, Cass and Bates Counties)
Phone: (573) 751-3971

Representative Joe Adams (St. Louis County)
Phone: (573) 751-4265

Representative Donna Baringer (St. Louis City)
Phone: (573) 751-4220

Representative Alan Gray (St Louis County)
Phone: (573) 751-5538

Representative Bridget Walsh Moore (St. Louis County)
Phone: (573) 751-0211

AKC Government Relations and the Missouri Federation of Animal Owners (MoFed) continue to closely monitor these and all legislative bills in Missouri impacting dog owners.  For more information, contact AKC GR at