Search Menu

Friday, March 15, 2019

The American Kennel Club (AKC) is pleased to support Minnesota House File 478.  Like its companion bill, SF 1109, this bill seeks to provide $150,000 in funding for the training of service dogs to assist some of the state’s firefighters with posttraumatic stress disorder.  All Minnesota residents are encouraged to join in support of the bill.

AKC’s POSITION ON THE USE OF DOGS FOR ASSISTANCE AND SERVICE:  The American Kennel Club strongly supports the training and use of dogs to provide assistance and service to humans.  Dogs provide valuable service as: seeing eye dogs; hearing dogs; therapy dogs; handicapped assistance dogs; drug, bomb, and arson detection dogs; and tracking dogs to locate missing persons and fugitives.

Click here to read about AKC’s support of companion bill SF 1109.

BILL STATUS:  The bill is scheduled to be considered by the House Health and Human Services Policy Committee on Tuesday, March 19, 2019.  All Minnesota residents are encouraged to join in support of the bill.  Email the committee members below and let them know you support HF 478.

Rep. Rena Moran, Chair
575 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5158
Email: rep.rena.moran@house.mn

Rep. Kelly Morrison, Vice Chair
429 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4315
Email: rep.kelly.morrison@house.mn

Rep. Debra Kiel, Committee Minority Leader
255 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5091
Email: rep.deb.kiel@house.mn

Rep. Tony Albright
259 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5185
Email: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

Rep. Jeff Backer
203 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4929
Email: rep.jeff.backer@house.mn

Rep. Kristin Bahner
525 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5502
Email: rep.kristin.bahner@house.mn

Rep. Heather Edelson
549 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4363
Email: rep.heather.edelson@house.mn

Rep. Peter Fischer
551 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5363
Email: rep.peter.fischer@house.mn

Rep. Mike Freiberg
509 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4176
Email: rep.mike.freiberg@house.mn

Rep. Tina Liebling
477 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-0573
Email: rep.tina.liebling@house.mn

Rep. Diane Loeffler
553 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4219
Email: rep.diane.loeffler@house.mn

Rep. Alice Mann
507 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5387
Email: rep.alice.mann@house.mn

Rep. Anne Neu
261 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5377
Email: rep.anne.neu@house.mn

Rep. Nels Pierson
345 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4378
Email: rep.nels.pierson@house.mn

Rep. Dave Pinto
439 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4199
Email: rep.dave.pinto@house.mn

Rep. Kristin Robbins
225 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-7806
Email: rep.kristin.robbins@house.mn

Rep. Joe Schomacker
209 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5505
Email: rep.joe.schomacker@house.mn

Rep. Jennifer Schultz
473 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-2228
Email: rep.jennifer.schultz@house.mn

For more information on Minnesota HF 478 or other pending legislation, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

 

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you