Search Menu

The Hawaii House Committee on Agriculture is scheduled to consider bills on mandatory microchipping, tethering clarifications, and others related to dogs at its hearing on Wednesday, February 10, 2021.  Dog owners are encouraged to contact the committee members with any input or concerns they may have.

HB 1287 seeks to require all dog owners to microchip their pets and register the microchip number and the owner’s contact information with a microchip registration company.  The bill also requires owners to update new contact information within 30 days after that change.

HB 416 seeks to clarify when a dog may be humanely tethered, including using a trolley, pully, cable, or running line designed to attach a dog to two stationary objects if the dog is over six months of age, the tether is configured to not repeatedly entangle the dog, the tether is longer than 10 feet in length, and the tether is not a tow or log chain but is proportionate to the size or weight of the dog.

HB 156 seeks to repeal the requirement that the County of Kauai contract solely with the Kauai Humane Society for providing animal control services.

HB 872 seeks to add new sources of revenue generated by the State Veterinary Laboratory and Animal Disease Control Branch that can be deposited into the animal Industry Special Fund.

The next House Agriculture Committee meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 10, 2021, at 10AM via videoconference.  Click here to submit testimony or to testify remotely.  Committee members may also be reached individually.

Chairman Mark J. Hashem – Dist. 18 (Hahaione, Kuliouou, Niu Valley, Aina Haina, Waialae, Kahala)
Phone: 808-586-6510

Vice Chair Amy A. Perruso – Dist. 46 (Wahiawa, Whitmore Village, Launani Valley)
Phone: 808-586-6700

Rep. Nicole E. Lowen – Dist. 6 (Kailua-Kona, Holualoa, Kalaoa, Honokohau)
Phone: 808-586-8400

Rep. Lisa Marten – Dist. 51 (Kailua, Waimanalo)
Phone: 808-586-9450

Rep. Scot Z. Matayoshi – Dist. 49 (Kaneohe, Maunawili, Olomana)
Phone: 808-586-8470

Rep. Chris Todd – Dist. 2 (Hilo, Keaukaha, Pana’ewa, Waiakea)
Phone: 808-586-8480

Rep. James Kumane Tokioka – Dist. 15 (Wailua Homesteads, Hanamaulu, Lihue, Puhi, Old Koloa Town, Omao)
Phone: 808-586-6270

Rep. Lauren Matsumoto – Dist. 45 (Schofield, Mokuleia, Waialua, Kunia, Waipio Acres, Mililani)
Phone: 808-586-9490

The live stream of this meeting is available on YouTube.  For more information, contact the committee clerk at 808-586-7009; or AKC’s Government Relations Department at