Search Menu

On Thursday, March 3, 2016, the Connecticut General Assembly’s Joint Insurance and Real Estate Committee will consider House Bill 5443, which would prohibit insurance companies from establishing minimum premiums, canceling, refusing to renew, or refusing to issue a homeowners insurance policy based solely on the breed of dog owned by the insured or applicant.  The American Kennel Club (AKC) supports House Bill 5443, and encourages all Connecticut residents to contact the members of the committee and respectfully ask them to support the bill. 

Talking Points in Favor of House Bill 5443:

  • The AKC believes that insurance companies should determine coverage of a dog-owning household based on a dog’s deed, not its breed.  If a dog is a well-behaved member of the household and the community, there is no reason to deny or cancel coverage.  In fact, insurance companies should consider a dog an asset, a natural alarm system whose bark may deter intruders and prevent potential theft. 
  • Breed-specific insurance regulations are ineffective and discriminate against dog owners regardless of whether their dog is truly a problem.  House Bill 5443 protects responsible dog owners from this discrimination, while ensuring that all dog owners are held accountable for their pets, regardless of what breed they choose to own. 

What you can do:

Connecticut residents are encouraged to contact the members of the Joint Insurance and Real Estate Committee and urge support of non-discriminatory House Bill 5443.  Please submit public testimony and emails to instestimony@cga.ct.gov

Individual members of the committee may be reached as follows:

State Senator Joseph J. Crisco, Committee Co-Chair – Click here for a form to email State Senator Crisco
State Representative Robert W. Megna, Committee Co-Chair – robert.megna@cga.ct.gov
State Senator Joan V. Hartley, Committee Vice Chair – hartley@senatedems.ct.gov
State Representative David Zoni, Committee Vice Chair – david.zoni@cga.ct.gov
State Senator Kevin C. Kelly, Ranking Member – Click here for a form to email State Senator Kelly
State Representative Robert C. Sampson, Ranking member – rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov
State Representative Catherine F. Ambercrombie – catherine.abercrombie@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Victor Cuevas – victor.cuevas@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Jeff Currey – jeff.currey@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Stephen D. Dargan – stephen.dargan@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Livvy R. Floren – livvy.floren@housegop.ct.gov
State Representative Susan M. Johnson — susan.johnson@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Brenda L. Kupchick – brenda.kupchick@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Jesse MacLachlan – jesse.maclachlan@housegop.ct.gov
State Representative Selim G. Noujaim – selim.noujaim@housegop.ct.gov
State Representative Christine Randall – christine.randall@cga.ct.gov
State Representative Emmett D. Riley – emmett.riley@cga.ct.gov
State Representative John F. Scott – john.scott@housegop.ct.gov
State Representative Kurt Vail – kurt.vail@housegop.ct.gov

AKC Government Relations will provide additional updates on House Bill 5443 as information becomes available.  For more information, contact AKC Government Relations at 919-816-3720, or email doglaw@akc.org.   

The American Kennel Club (AKC) supports House Bill 5443, and encourages all Connecticut residents to contact the members of the committee and respectfully ask them to support the bill.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at enewsletter@akc.org
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php
https://www.akc.org/subscription/thank-you