Search Menu

House Bill 1883, the Working Animal Protection Act, seeks to protect use of working animals in human service and animal enterprise.  HB 1883 has passed in House committee, and will next be voted on by the full House.  A House vote could be held as early as Monday, April 19, 2021.

Owners, handlers, and exhibitors of working and competition animals are urged to immediately contact state Representatives and respectfully ask them to vote YES on HB 1883.  Email messages can be left over the weekend.  Please scroll down for contact information.

Among other provisions, HB 1883 would guarantee the right to utilize a working animal.  It also would state that an ordinance or resolution shall not be enacted by a municipality that terminates, bans, or creates an undue hardship relating to the job or use of a working animal or animal enterprise in commerce, service, legal hunting, agriculture, husbandry, transportation, ranching, entertainment, education, or exhibition.

The bill would not alter or restrict state or municipal laws regarding animal care, public health, public safety, cruelty laws, or zoning provisions. Certain production livestock are excluded.

Contact Information for Arkansas Representatives:

To find out who represents you, visit, scroll down to “Find Officials,” and enter your address.

The capitol phone number for all Representatives is (501) 682-7771.  Additional phone numbers are available for some Representatives at

Rep. Fred Allen

Rep. Sonia Barker

Rep. Howard Beaty

Rep. Rick Beck

Rep. Mary Bentley

Rep. Stan Berry

Rep. Mark Berry

Rep. Justin Boyd

Rep. Ken Bragg

Rep. Harlan Breaux

Rep. Keith Brooks

Rep. Karilyn Brown

Rep. Joshua Bryant

Rep. John Carr

Rep. Frances Cavenaugh

Rep. Craig Christiansen

Rep. Joe Cloud

Rep. Nicole Clowney

Rep. Bruce Coleman

Rep. Andrew Collins

Rep. Cameron Cooper

Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Cindy Crawford

Rep. Carol Dalby

Rep. Marsh Davis

Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh

Rep. Jim Dotson    

Rep. Les Eaves

Rep. Denise Ennett

Rep. Jon Eubanks

Rep. Brian Evans

Rep. Kenneth Ferguson

Rep. Deborah Ferguson

Rep. David Fielding

Rep. Charlene Fite

Rep. Lanny Fite

Rep. Vivian Flowers

Rep. Jack Fortner

Rep. Tony Furman

Rep. Denise Garner

Rep. Jimmy Gazaway

Rep. Megan Godfrey

Rep. Justin Gonzales

Rep. Michelle Gray

Rep. Delia Haak

Rep. Spencer Hawks

Rep. David Hillman

Rep. Monte Hodges

Rep. Mike Holcomb

Rep. Steve Hollowell

Rep. Ashley Hudson

Rep. Lane Jean

Rep. Joe Jett

Rep. Lee Johnson

Rep. Jack Ladyman

Rep. Fredrick Love

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Robin Lundstrum

Rep. Roger Lynch

Rep. John Maddox

Rep. Stephen Magie

Rep. Julie Mayberry

Rep. Rick McClure

Rep. Austin McCollum

Rep. Tippi McCullough

Rep. Mark McElroy

Rep. Richard McGrew

Rep. Gayla McKenzie

Rep. Ron McNair

Rep. Stephen Meeks

Rep. Josh Miller

Rep. Jon Milligan

Rep. Reginald Murdock

Rep. Milton Nicks

Rep. John Payton

Rep. Clint Penzo

Rep. Mark Perry

Rep. Aaron Pilkington

Rep. David Ray

Rep. Jay Richardson

Rep. Marcus Richmond

Rep. Johnny Rye

Rep. Jamie Scott

Rep. Matthew Shepherd

Rep. Keith Slape

Rep. Brandt Smith

Rep. Stu Smith

Rep. Nelda Speaks

Rep. Joy Springer

Rep. David Tollett

Rep. Dwight Tosh

Rep. Kendon Underwood

Rep. DeAnn Vaught

Rep. Jeff Wardlaw

Rep. Les Warren

Rep. Danny Watson

Rep. David Whitaker

Rep. Carlton Wing

Rep. Richard Womack

Rep. Jim Wooten

For additional information, please contact AKC Government Relations at 919-816-3720 or