Search Menu

A bill to protect the rights of responsible dog owners in Kentucky passed in the Senate Agriculture Committee and has advanced to the Senate Rules Committee.  Senate Bill 124 seeks to prohibit local governments from passing any ordinance, regulation, or policy that is specific to a breed of dog.  For this bill to become law in Kentucky, the next step in the legislative process is for the Senate Rules Committee to advance the bill to the full Senate.

Kentucky dog owners and participants in dog events held in Kentucky are urged to express their support of this important, non-discriminatory legislation.


Contact Senator Robert Stivers II, Senate Rules Committee Chair, and members of the Senate Rules Committee and respectfully request their support for SB 124.

Senate Rules Committee Members

Senator Robert Stivers II, Chairman
Senator David P. Givens, Vice Chairman
Senator Julian M. Carroll
Senator Jimmy Higdon
Senator Ray S. Jones II
Senator Gerald A. Neal
Senator Dan “Malano” Seum
Senator Damon Thayer

Contact your state senator and respectfully ask that he or she support this important legislation. Click here for Senate contact information. 

If you do not know your senator’s name, click here.

For questions or more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at or 919-816-3720.