Search Menu

History Made With Same Dog Winning Both Stakes

For the first time in the history of the event, one dog, the German Shorthaired Pointer FC Slicks Cuttin Wild, won both the Retrieving Championship and the Non-Retrieving Championship stakes in the 17th annual American Kennel Club® Pointing Breed Gun Dog Championship, sponsored by Purina and Tri-Tronics.

“Joker” professionally handled by Jim West of Iowa and owned by Michael Patrick from Colorado was recently crowned at the historic Fort Robinson State Park near Crawford, Nebraska where the event took place from May 1 – May 11, 2010.

There were two championship stakes held at the event with 100 entries in each stake.  Eight different pointing breeds participated.  In order to qualify to compete, a dog must have earned an AKC Field Champion title or been awarded a high placement in trials held in the last year.  There were more than 60 Field Champions entered in each of the two stakes.

“The historic and natural setting of Fort Robinson was an ideal location for this record-setting competition,” said Doug Ljungren, AKC Assistant Vice President of Performance Events. “The course is typical of where one would go upland bird hunting.  Native sharptail were found throughout the event.  It is a pleasure to watch these highly skilled dogs apply themselves to this setting.  I want to thank the Colorado Pointer Club for organizing such a quality event. Congratulations to the winners and entrants who worked hard to make it to this level of competition.”

The winning dogs and handlers were as follows:

Non-Retrieving Championship Stake

1.  FC Slicks Cuttin Wild, GSP, O – Michael Patrick, H – Jim West
(NFC/FC Chislhom Creeks Cuttin Loose X Slick Renegade Lady)

2.   NAFC/DC Ariels Justa Gotta Go Now, GWP, O – Bernee Brawn, H – Jim West
(CH Sure Shots Rock On X CH Justa Ariels’s Too Tuff to Tame)

3.   Las Animas Salsa, Pointer, O – David Higgins, H – Ben Garcia
(Las Animas Mac X El Sauz Maggie)

4. Light-Em-Up Luke, Brit, O – Dave Klein, H – Ben Garcia
(FC Kellys Krazy Kody X FC Sniksoh Sweet Hershey Kiss)

Judge’s Award of Merit –

  • FC Flying Dutchman, Pointer, O – Steve Bailey & Spero Manson, H – Steve Bailey
  • FC Shadowfax Fraser MacFarlane, G. Setter, O – Lynne Barnet, H – John Rabidou
  • DC/AFC Megasmoke Limited Edition, Brit, O – White & Horstmeyer, H – Tom White
Non-Retrieving Championship Stake Winners

Retrieving Championship Stake

1.  FC Slicks Cuttin Wild, GSP, O – Michael Patrick, H – Jim West
(NFC/FC Chislhom Creeks Cuttin Loose X Slick Renegade Lady)

2.   FC Eshod Arkansas Lady, GSP, O – Orville Williams, H – Ray Dohse
(FC Magnum’s King of Aces X Katerina von Trapp)

3.   FC/AFC Dunfur’s Bovill Run, GSP, O/H – Dan Hoke
(FC PFK Dunfur’s Blown Income X Turbo Dumazuriflyer)

4.   DC Heller’s Fiddlin Jack, Pointer, O/H – David Heller
(Triplecross Bo X Santo)

Judge’s Award of Merit –

  • FC Uodibars Little Lena, GSP, O/H – John Rabidou
  • FC/AFC Henry’s Monster I Am Karl, GSP, O – George Turner, H – GF Henry
  • NFC/NAFC/DC/AFC Rudolph’s Blitzen Von Duffin, GWP, O – Williams, H – Randy Berry