Search Menu


The American Kennel Club today announced that 54 Junior Scholarships have been awarded to students from 25 states. The scholarships totaling $100,000 range from $1,000 to $5,000 and winners include students from high school to graduate school.

“The AKC recognizes the important role our young fanciers play in the future of the sport of purebred dogs,” said Mari-Beth O'Neill, AVP of Corporate Training and Development. “Anything we can do to assist them with reaching their personal and professional goals – with the hope that they will continue their participation in the sport – is of the utmost importance to us.”

Each student's academic history and potential – as well as involvement in the sport of purebred dogs – were key criteria for winning the award from a field of 100 candidates. The average grade point average among the recipients was 3.6.

Their involvement in the fancy ranged from earning titles in Conformation, Obedience, Agility, Hunting, Herding and Lure Coursing to qualifying for events such as the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship. This year's recipients are also involved in many dog-related extracurricular activities, including breeding, obedience training, AKC Junior Showmanship judging, 4-H, CGC evaluations, therapy work and are active in national, local and all-breed dog clubs. In addition, some of this year's recipients represented the U.S. at Crufts and the FCI World Dog Show.

2004 AKC Junior Scholarship Recipients

  • Charlotte Anderson, Minneapolis, MN

  • Wyatt Delfino, Alpine, CA

  • Jennifer Duffecy, Chicago, IL

  • Emily Bisso, Metarie, LA

  • Jenna Dell, Clifton Springs, NY*

  • Allison Johnston, Wilmington, NC *

  • Theresa Keating, Redding, CT

  • Correy Krickeberg, Rochester, NY *

  • Chad Malinak, Harvey, LA

  • Allison McGuigan, Moorestown, NJ

  • Megan Nelson, Cheshire, CT

  • Kathleen Burns, Dublin, OH

  • Tyler Cegler, Stevensville, MT

  • Jenny Glei, Leasburg, NC

  • Caitlyn Glick, Huntsville, AL

  • Adam King, Boonville, IN

  • Emily Madole, Duluth, MN

  • John McConville, Dallas, TX

  • Emily Meyer, Raleigh, NC

  • Marian Mossman, Kailua, HI

  • Holly Niece, Phoenix, AZ

  • Eve Rivinus, Canby, OR *

  • Jessica Sedivy, Farmington, MN

  • Amber Short, Tacoma, WA

  • Katie Shepherd, Kansas City, MO

  • Kyle Schulberg, Palmetto Bay, FL

  • Brandi Smith, Birmingham, AL

  • Nicholas Urbanek, Glenshaw, PA

  • Shannon Wilson, Racine, WI

  • Chelsea Brandenburg, Vermontville, MI

  • Krystle Bounds, Parsonburg, MD

  • Rebecca Clas, Thurmont, MD

  • Katerina Davis, Sprinboro, OH

  • Katie Doherty, Amarillo, TX

  • Joseph Esch, North Granby, CT

  • Jennifer Fish, Camas, WA

  • Brooke Folley, Harrisburg, PA

  • Jonathon Freeman, Lumberton, NC

  • Lindsay Gaulke, Hood River, OR

  • Rebecca Helmke, Madison, NY

  • Adrienne Hill, Ahaloma, CA

  • Elizabeth Jordan, Elk Grove, CA

  • Lauren Kolb, Neshanic Station, NJ

  • Peter Kubacz, Jackson, NJ *

  • Brandon Lenk, Maidens, VA

  • Kendra Lord, Forest Junction, WI

  • Anne Marie Lyons, Carrollton, TX

  • Shannon Mort, Keymar, MD

  • Kristen Nelson, Palm Dessert, CA

  • Karen Potter, Coopersville, MI

  • Thea Steele, Seattle, WA

  • Joshua Webb, Stevensville, MD

  • Abigail Whyman, Los Lunas, NM

  • David Zavasky, Mentor, OH


* Indicates that individual will be an AKC intern for the summer 2004 term.

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us at