Search Menu

More than 57 New York lawmakers have shown their support for responsible pet ownership by signing on as Honorary Chairpersons for the AKC Meet the Breeds® educational event on February 9th.

“We thank New York legislators for demonstrating their commitment to responsible pet ownership by becoming an Honorary Chairperson for AKC Meet the Breeds,” said Sheila Goffe, Vice President, Government Relations. “Their support is vital to helping us spread the word about the importance of responsible dog ownership and protect the rights of responsible dog owners.”

Over 100 lawmakers from the tri-state area have signed on to be Honorary Chairs for the 2019 event.

Honorary Chairs from New York are as follows:


U.S. Senator Charles E. Schumer
U.S. Congressman Adriano Espaillat
U.S. Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney
U.S. Congressman Thomas Suozzi
U.S. Congressman Paul D. Tonko
U.S. Congressman Jefferson Van Drew
State Senator Phil Boyle
State Senator David Carlucci
State Senator John J. Flanagan
State Senator Joseph A. Griffo
State Senator Brad Hoylman
State Senator Liz Krueger
State Senator Andrew Lanza
State Senator Sue Serino
State Assemblymember Karl Brabenec
State Assemblymember Edward C. Braunstein
State Assemblymember Michael G. DenDekker
State Assemblymember David DiPietro
State Assemblymember Anthony D’Urso
State Assemblymember Deborah J. Glick
State Assemblymember Pamela J. Hunter
State Assemblymember Brian M. Kolb
State Assemblymember Nicole Malliotakis
State Assemblymember John T. McDonald III
State Assemblymember David McDonough
State Assemblymember John Mikulin
State Assemblymember Michael Miller
State Assemblymember Michael A. Montesano
State Assemblymember Walter T. Mosley
State Assemblymember Daniel J. O’Donnell
State Assemblymember Félix W. Ortiz
State Assemblymember Steve Otis
State Assemblymember Amy R. Paulin
State Assemblymember Edward P. Ra
State Assemblymember Angelo Santabarbara
State Assemblymember Rebecca A. Seawright
State Assemblymember Aravella Simotas
State Assemblymember Helene E. Weinstein
State Assemblymember David I. Weprin
State Assemblymember Tremaine Wright
State Assemblymember Ken Zebrowski
New York City Council Member Alicka Ampry-Samuel
New York City Council Member Andrew Cohen
New York City Council Member Barry S. Grodenchik
New York City Council Member Robert F. Holden
New York City Council Member Alan N. Maisel
New York City Council Member I. Daneek Miller
New York City Council Member Francisco Moya
New York City Council Member Keith Powers
New York City Council Member Paul A. Vallone
Brooklyn Borough President Eric L. Adams
Manhattan Borough President Gale A. Brewer
Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr.
Nassau County Legislator Tom McKevitt
Suffolk County Legislator Sarah Anker
Suffolk County Legislator Susan A. Berland, Esq.
Suffolk County Legislator Robert Calarco
Suffolk County Legislator Tom Cilmi


The American Kennel Club and The International Cat Association® (TICA®) have again joined forces to bring AKC Meet the Breeds®  to the public.  The event is part of The American Kennel Club & Westminster Kennel Club present Meet & Compete, which also features the 6th Annual Masters Agility Championship at Westminster brought to you by Purina® Pro Plan®. One daytime ticket will grant event-goers access to both AKC Meet the Breeds® and the Masters Agility Championship at Westminster.  Attendees will be able to interact with almost 200 breeds of dogs and cats in elaborately decorated booths depicting elements from the breed’s history, and learn about the breed straight from the experts. AKC Meet the Breeds®  will take place in Piers 92 & 94 from 10 a.m.- 5 p.m.