Search Menu

The American Kennel Club (AKC®) wishes to acknowledge those individuals that have excelled at breeding dogs that have proven to be outstanding in AKC sports.  The commitment to preserve, protect and improve a breed represents the very essence of the AKC.   The AKC Breeder of the Year by Sport Award is given to those who have dedicated themselves to improving the health, temperament and performance of dogs in a given sport.

The 2020 Breeder of the Year by Sport award recipients are:

Pointing Breed Field Events Fred Ryan German Shorthaired Pointers
Retriever Field Events Carole Robison Labradors
Spaniel Field Events Richard Krueger Spaniels
Hound Field Events Wayne Wilson & Barbara Arm Beagles
Herding John Holman Border Collies
Lure Coursing Katie Belz Ibizan Hound
Earthdog Dawn Watters Dachshunds
Coonhounds Dr. Joe Burkett III Treeing Walker Coonhounds
Agility Susan Bintliff Shetland Sheepdogs
Obedience Gayle Watkins Golden Retrievers
Rally Barbara Biewer & Michael Book Golden Retrievers
Tracking Lew Olson Rottweilers

“Knowledgeable breeders are critical to the continued success of canine sports. These breeders have shown a long-term dedication to enhancing breed instincts and breeding sound dogs with good temperaments,” said Doug Ljungren, Executive Vice President for Sports and Events. “Their accomplishments represent the highest level of commitment to their breeds and sports.”

Each recipient received a Breeder of the Year rosette mounted in a shadow box.

The American Kennel Club salutes these individuals for their dedication and success in breeding purpose-bred dogs.