Search Menu


— AKC Awards 23 Scholarships to Veterinary Students–

New York, NY – The American Kennel Club announced that 23 Veterinary Scholarships have been awarded to students from fifteen of the twenty-eight US accredited schools of veterinary medicine. These awards include three Chairman's awards of $15,000 each, three President's awards of $10,000 each, and seventeen AKC/CAR awards of $5,000 each.

“As a result of AKC Companion Animal Recovery (CAR) generously adding $100,000 to the funds available, we had a total of $160,000 to distribute to deserving veterinary students,” said Keith Frazier, Assistant Vice President of Audit and Control. “These scholarships will help defer the rising costs of veterinary school as these recipients pursue their canine-related careers.”

The AKC Scholarship Program for Veterinary Medicine has existed for 13 years, and the awards are given annually. The fund has gradually increased from $50,000 in 1991 to $160,000 today.

The 2004 Veterinary Scholarship Recipients are:

Chairman's Award $15,000.00
Christina Alanna Bradbury – University of California-Davis
Dana Lynn Clarke- University of Pennsylvania
Kristin Lee Rieser- University of Wisconsin-Madison

President's Award $10,000.00
Coral Ann Turman- North Carolina State University
Katie Marie Belz – Texas A& M
Allen Douglas Walter- University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

AKC/CAR Award $5,000.00
Rebecca Robinson- Auburn University
Brian Allen Ward- Auburn University
Katelyn Romeo- Cornell University
Laura Thompson- Colorado State University
Sharon Clare- North Carolina State University
Cassandra Norine Steed- Oregon State University
Kimberly Cary- Texas A & M University
Treyton Jai Diggs- Tuskegee University
Patrice Ellen Nicholas- University of California -Davis
James Jackson- University of Florida
Regina Howton- University of Florida
Erin L. Selllers- University of Florida
Lisha Lynn Whitaker- University of Georgia
Joellen Gregory- University of Minnesota
Keira Johanna Geithman- University of Pennsylvania
Tracy Hyer Wynder- University of Pennsylvania
Alanna Faith Webster- University of Tennessee


Click here to view this article in PDF format.