Search Menu


— Twenty-three Scholarships go to Veterinary Students —

New York, NY — The American Kennel Club (AKC®) awarded scholarships to 23 students from 18 U.S. accredited schools of veterinary medicine. These awards include three Chairman's awards of $15,000 each, three President's awards of $10,000 each, and seventeen AKC/CAR awards of $5,000 each.

“The American Kennel Club's Veterinary Outreach Program along with the generous support of AKC Companion Animal Recovery (CAR) is once again proud to donate $160,000 in veterinary scholarships to deserving young students,” said Keith Frazier, Assistant Vice-President of Audit and Control, AKC.

“As a leading authority on purebred dogs, the AKC provides resources to assist the veterinary profession in providing the best care for all dogs,” said Debra Bonnefond, Director of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Program. “In addition to providing background information, supporting research, and offering scholarships for future practitioners and researchers, we also work to educate the general public about proper canine health care, which includes routine visits to a veterinarian.”

Each accredited U.S. veterinary school is asked to nominate four scholarship candidates. From these students, the recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities with purebred dogs or related research, and need.

The AKC Scholarship Program for Veterinary Medicine has existed for 14 years, and the awards are given annually. The fund has increased from $50,000 in 1991 to $160,000 today.

The 2005 Veterinary Scholarship Recipients are:

Chairman's Award $15,000.00

  • Rebecca Robinson 2006 – Auburn University

  • Pamela Jane Mueller 2008 – Cornell University

  • Dana Lynn Clarke 2006 – University of Pennsylvania


President's Award $10,000.00

  • Holly Niece Tuttle 2008 – Colorado State University

  • Lauren Brower 2008 – The Ohio State University

  • Christina Russert 2008 – Washington State University


AKC/CAR Award $5,000.00 

  • Brian Allen Ward 2007 – Auburn University

  • Leslie Eide 2006 – Colorado State University

  • Tara Ehling 2007 – Kansas State University

  • Katrine Voie 2008 – Louisiana State University

  • Jennifer DenHouter 2008 – Michigan State University

  • Lauren Boccanfusco 2008 – North Carolina State University

  • Kimberly Cary 2006 – Texas A & M University

  • Bethany Moore 2008 – Texas A & M University

  • Ruth Ann Solomon 2006 – Tufts University

  • Patrice Ellen Nicholas 2007 – University of California/Davis

  • Erin Kendell Barker 2008 – University of California/Davis

  • Jessica Morgan 2006 – University of Florida

  • Courtney Fitzpatrick 2006 – University of Florida

  • Valli Pathasarathy2006 – University of Georgia

  • Alina Evans 2008 – University of Minnesota

  • Alanna Faith Webster 2006 – University of Tennessee

  • Kelson Danielson 2007 – University of Wisconsin/Madison