Search Menu


— Second Annual Scholarship in Honor of Dr. Asa Mays —

New York, NY – The American Kennel Club® (AKC®) today announced it has awarded scholarships to 23 students from 19 U.S. accredited schools of veterinary medicine. These scholarships include the Chairman's Award, the President’s Award and the Dr. Asa Mays Award, each in the amount of $15,000.  In addition, twenty AKC/Companion Animal Recovery scholarships of $5,000 each were awarded.

“The American Kennel Club's Veterinary Outreach Program along with the generous support of AKC Companion Animal Recovery (CAR) is proud to once again honor some of the top veterinary students in the country,” said Debra Bonnefond Director of veterinary outreach. “The AKC continues to remember Dr. Asa Mays for his devotion to the sport of purebred dogs and his contributions to veterinary medicine, so that future generations can continue to live out the dream that began with him.”

The Dr. Asa Mays Award is offered in honor of the prestigious veterinarian, lifetime dog fancier, and AKC Board of Director.  Dr. Mays was a founding board member of the AKC Canine Health Foundation and served many clubs in his more than 35 years of dedication to the sport. He was a Diplomat of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine, Director of Laboratory Animal Medicine at Indiana University and served as a manager of strategic bio-informatics for an animal health pharmaceutical manufacturer.

Each accredited U.S. veterinary school is asked to nominate four scholarship candidates.  From these students, the recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities with purebred dogs or related research, and need.

The AKC Scholarship Program for Veterinary Medicine has existed for 16 years, and the awards are given annually.


The 2007 Veterinary Scholarship Recipients are:

Dr. Asa Mays  Award   $15,000.00

  • Greg Kuhlman 2009- University of Wisconsin/Madison

Chairman’s Award  $15,000.00

  • Amanda Chrzanowski 2008- Michigan State University

President’s Award  $15,000.00

  • Pamela Jane Mueller 2008- Cornell University

AKC/CAR Award  $5,000.00

  • Elizabeth DeHaye 2009 – Auburn University

  • Holly Niece Tuttle 2008- Colorado State University

  • Allison Darby 2009- Iowa State University

  • Caitlyn Glick- 2010- Iowa State University

  • Christopher Potanas 2010- Kansas State University

  • Lauren Kathryn Popiolek- 2008 Louisiana State University

  • Adam King 2011- North Carolina State University

  • Cynthia Willson 2011-North Carolina State University

  • Lauren Brower 2008-The Ohio State University

  • Katie Halfen 2008- Tufts University

  • Kelly Churchill 2009- University of California–Davis

  • Jenny Glei 2010- University of Florida

  • Hiroyuki Iwamoto 2009- University of Georgia

  • Angela Corn Yates 2008- University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana

  • Ann Johnson 2009- University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana

  • Benjamin Perry 2010- University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana

  • Alina Evans 2008- University of Minnesota

  • Lindsay A. Belano 2009- University of Pennsylvania

  • Christina J. Ramierz 2010- Washington State University

  • Michael Gerber 2010- Western University