Search Menu


–– Scholarships Awarded With Support from Royal Canin, American Veterinary Medical Foundation, AKC Companion Animal Recovery and AKC Canine Health Foundation

The American Kennel Club® (AKC®) announced today it has awarded scholarships to 25 students from 19 American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited schools of veterinary medicine.

Sponsors are broken down as follows:

  • Royal Canin – Chairman’s Award, President’s Award, and the Dr. Asa Mays Award – $10,000 each
  • AKC Companion Animal Recovery – Twenty (20) $5,000 scholarships
  • American Veterinary Medical Foundation – AVMF Award – $6,000
  • AKC Canine Health Foundation – Robert L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship – $5,000

“We are thrilled to be able to present these scholarships for the upcoming school year, and thank our partners for their generous support,” said Debra Bonnefond, Director of Veterinary Outreach. “We wish these students the best of luck as they continue on the path to becoming some of the best veterinarians in the nation.”

The AKC Scholarship Program for Veterinary Medicine has existed for 18 years, and the awards are given annually. Each AVMA accredited U.S. veterinary school is asked to nominate four scholarship candidates.  From these students, the recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities with purebred dogs or related research, and need.

“Royal Canin is dedicated to the health and well–being of dogs, so we are proud to join the American Kennel Club’s Veterinary Outreach program in honoring the people who will be charged with the care of our pets in the near future,” said Dr. Denise Elliott, Director of Scientific Affairs for Royal Canin.  “We throw our whole–hearted support behind students who are dedicating their lives to veterinary medicine and wish them the best of luck.”

“As the largest national veterinarian–directed animal charity, the American Veterinary Medical Foundation is designed to benefit veterinary medicine and promote animal health and welfare. We are pleased to offer the AVMF Award for the first time this year, to a student dedicated to advancing canine medicine,” said Mike Cathey, Executive Director of the American Veterinary Medical Foundation. “We believe that an important part of our mission is to foster the next generation of veterinary professionals, and help them make valuable contributions to animal health and medicine.”

“Named after our longtime director and founder, we are proud to award the third annual Robert L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship to an exceptional veterinary student,” said Erika Werne, Director of Education, Communications & Club Relations. “This scholarship is unique in that it supports students pursuing dual degrees in veterinary medicine and research, something we are proud to encourage because of the direct effect it has on our own organization.”

“AKC Companion Animal Recovery works closely with veterinarians across the country to identify pets with microchips to ensure that lost pets will be reunited with their owners,” said Tom Sharp, Vice President and CEO of AKC CAR. “We are happy to give back to the community by awarding scholarships to the next generation of vets that will play an integral part in responsible pet ownership.”

The 2009 Veterinary Scholarship Recipients are:

Dr. Asa Mays Award ($10,000.00) – Sponsored by Royal Canin:
Cynthia Willson 2011 – North Carolina State University

Chairman’s Award ($10,000.00) – Sponsored by Royal Canin:
Kimberly Hitt 2012 – Mississippi State University

President’s Award ($10,000.00) – Sponsored by Royal Canin:
Joseph Esch 2012 – The Ohio State University

AVMF AWARD ($6,000.00) – Sponsored by AKC and the American Veterinary Medical Foundation:
Amanda Taylor 2010 – Texas A & M University

Robert L. Kelly Memorial Scholarship ($5,000.00) – Sponsored by AKC Canine Health Foundation:
Jill Schappa 2011 – University of Minnesota

AKC/CAR Award ($5,000.00) – Sponsored by AKC Companion Animal Recovery

  • Sarah Vitosh 2012 – Iowa State University
  • Christopher Potanas 2010 – Kansas State University
  • Jenna Giangarra 2012 – Kansas State University
  • Chad Malinak 2012 – Louisiana State University
  • Heather Grodi 2012 – Michigan State University
  • Karen Potter 2010 – Michigan State University
  • Alicia Davis McLaughlin 2011 – Oklahoma State University
  • Kari Gorman 2010 – Oregon State University
  • Kevin Simmons 2010 – Tuskegee University
  • Theresa Keating 2011 – University of California, Davis
  • Jenny Glei 2010 – University of Florida
  • Carole Amos 2010 – University of Georgia
  • Amelia DiMiceli 2010 – University of Minnesota
  • Dana Mosher 2012 – University of Pennsylvania
  • Julia Shih 2010 – University of Pennsylvania
  • Doris Ranivand 2013 – VA/MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Amanda Oedekoven 2010 – Washington State University
  • Christina Ramierez 2010 – Washington State University
  • Michael Gerber 2010 – Western University