Search Menu

New York, NY – The American Kennel Club wishes to acknowledge those individuals that have excelled at breeding dogs that have proven to be outstanding in AKC sports. The commitment to preserve, protect and improve a breed represents the very essence of the AKC. The AKC Breeder of the Year by Sport Award is given to those who have dedicated themselves to improving the health, temperament and performance of dogs in a given sport.

Announced at the December Delegates meeting by President Dennis Sprung, the 2014 Breeder of the Year by Sport award recipients are:

Pointing Breed Field Events – Brian Hill and Karen Niffenegger, WA – GSPs
Retriever Field Events – Judith Aycock, TX – Labradors
Spaniel Field Events – Vicky Thomas, CA – English Cockers
Hound Field Events – Pete Proctor, NC – Beagles
Herding – Linda Holloway, OK – Border Collies
Lure Coursing – Dominic Carota/Stephen Sipperly, NY – Pharaoh Hounds
Earthdog – Karen Fitzpatrick, IL – Border Terriers
Coonhounds – Phillip Herron, AR – B&T Coonhounds
Agility – Karen Moureaux, CA – Border Collies
Obedience – Michael Book & Barbara Biewer, CT – Golden Ret.
Rally – Jamie Beckett, CO – Golden Ret.
Tracking – Ann Felske-Jackman, Ontario – Rottweilers

“Not only did these individuals breed dogs that excelled in their selected sport, many of the dogs earned titles in other venues,” said Doug Ljungren, Vice President for Sports and Events. “The accomplishments of these breeders represent the highest level of commitment to their breeds and sports.”

Each recipient received a Breeder of the Year rosette mounted in a shadow box.

The sports and the American Kennel Club salute these individuals for their dedication and success in breeding purpose-bred dogs.