Search Menu

— Seventeen Vet Tech Students Honored —

New York, NY – The American Kennel Club® (AKC®) and Bayer, K9 Advantix® along with the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA) are pleased to announce the winners of the AKC Bayer K9 Advantix Veterinary Technician Scholarships.

Two scholarships in the amount of $2,500 and 15 scholarships in the amount of $1,000 were awarded to students from 15 American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited schools of veterinary technology.

The AKC has awarded annual scholarships to veterinary students since 1991 and in 2005 expanded the program to include veterinary technicians.

“At Bayer, we’re dedicated to providing resources to assist the veterinary profession in providing the best of care for dogs,” said Fiona McLellan, Marketing Manager for K9 Advantix. “We’re delighted to once again award the AKC Bayer K9 Advantix Veterinary Technician Scholarships and recognize the efforts of the students who will keep dogs happy and healthy in the future.”

“Through our Veterinary Outreach program, AKC is able to establish strong relationships within the veterinary community,” said Debra Bonnefond, Director of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Program. “The future technicians we’re honoring will play pivotal roles in vet offices, so we are pleased to support their development and educational advancement.”

To be eligible, candidates must be current, full-time students at an AVMA-accredited Veterinary Technician school and be a NAVTA student member or a member of a NAVTA Student Chapter. Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities in the small animal, exotics, and research areas, and activities in NAVTA and SCNAVTA.

Additional information about the scholarships can be found on the AKC Web site at as well as the NAVTA Web site at

AKC/Bayer K9 Advantix® Veterinary Technician Scholarships 2009-2010

$2,500.00 Award
Lisa Rishel-Marzban – Pierce College
Kimberly Wilson – SUNY Ulster Community College

$1,000.00 Award
Lena Viskil – Brevard Community College-Cocoa
Lisa Cothran – Cedar Valley College
Julie Muncey – Columbus State Community College
Heather Hodges – Delgado Community College
Nicole Smith – Fairmont State University
Elizabeth Ransome – Harcum College
Nicole Newcomer – Lehigh Carbon Community College
Jill Tonzola – Lehigh Carbon Community College
Andrew Tepe – Lincoln Memorial
Jennifer Alexander – Macomb Community College
Mallory White – Macomb Community College
Dana Rucinski – Mercy College
Christen Gedney – Mt. Ida College
Hilary Chase – Ridgewater College
Kathrina Jorgensen – Wayne County Community College