Tennessee—Dog Breeder Regulations Hidden in Amended Bill, Contact Committee TODAY

The American Kennel Club has been advised that House Bill 120 has been amended to include "commercial dog breeder regulations". The amended bill is scheduled to be voted on by the House Consumer and Human Resources Committee tomorrow, March 1, 2017, at 10:30 a.m.

The American Kennel Club has been advised that House Bill 120 has been amended to include "commercial dog breeder regulations".  The amended bill is scheduled to be voted on by the House Consumer and Human Resources Committee tomorrow, March 1, 2017, at 10:30 a.m.

Concerned dog owners are urged to immediately contact committee members and respectfully ask that they not advance any amendments regarding dog breeding until impacted citizens have the opportunity to review and comment on them. See contact information, below.

The AKC understands that this amendment contains language substantially similar to  House Bill 265, which seeks to regulate, inspect, and require payment of unknown fees by owners of 11 intact female dogs “kept for the purpose of breeding”. Under this bill, a person who owns 11 intact females and sells a single puppy could be regulated as a commercial breeder.  

Further, because HB 120 was amended in subcommittee to contain dog breeder regulations, the newly amended language has not been shared with stakeholders or posted to the state legislative website for review by impacted citizens and dog owners. 

Committee Member Contacts:

Rep. Jimmy Eldridge, Committee Chair, (615) 741-7475, rep.jimmy.eldridge@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Mark Pody, Committee Vice Chair, (615) 741-7086, rep.mark.pody@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Susan Lynn, sponsor of amended bill HB 120 and HB 265, (615) 741-7462, rep.susan.lynn@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Glen Casada, (615) 741-4389, rep.glen.casada@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Jimmy Matlock, (615) 741-3736, rep.jimmy.matlock@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Rick Staples, (615) 741-0768, rep.rick.staples@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Dwayne Thompson, (615) 741-1920, rep.dwayne.thompson@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Mark White, (615) 741-4415, rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

For more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3645. 

Comment & Discuss

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names

Female puppy Male puppy