Alabama Committee Votes Tomorrow on Bill to Regulate Every Person Who Offers to Sell a Dog or Cat

An overreaching bill that seeks to regulate dog and cat breeders and sellers in Alabama is scheduled to be voted on by the Senate Government Affairs Committee tomorrow, April 20, at 8:45 a.m.

An overreaching bill that seeks to regulate dog and cat breeders and sellers in Alabama is scheduled to be voted on by the Senate Government Affairs Committee tomorrow, April 20, at 8:45 a.m.

It is urgent that concerned Alabama citizens immediately contact each committee member to express your concerns and respectfully ask them to VOTE NO on Senate Bill 17.  Please scroll down for committee contact information.

A substitute to Senate Bill 17 will be presented to the committee tomorrow.  The AKC understands that the substitute bill seeks to regulate every person who sells 35 or more dogs or cats in a year. License fees would be $300 per year. Inspection fees would be set by the commission, with no limitations on the number of inspections or re-inspections. Violations would subject to civil penalties of up to $500 per violation per day, and would increase to $2,500 per violation per day for violations not remedied after 30 days.

AKC also understand that the substitute bill would require every person who advertises to sell a dog or cat to obtain a one-time registration number (at no charge) and would establish requirements that must be met in order to be issued the number.  The definition of “advertisement” would include any communication between a seller and buyer that occurred over the Internet, via social media, by mail, on a website, or that was transmitted electronically, along with paid advertisements on various media.

The bill would create a new state commission to write and implement regulations for dog and cat breeders and sellers. The 12-person commission would contain only two slots for breeders. 

Of great importance to all pet owners, we understand that the substitute bill specifically states that the act does not prevent a municipality or county from prohibiting or further regulating by order or ordinance the possession, breeding, or selling of dogs or cats.

At this time, the substitute for SB 17 has not been made available to the public.  It is unknown at this time if the final version will remove certain onerous provisions, add problematic provisions, or both.

What You Can Do 

Concerned citizens are urged to immediately contact each committee member and ask them to VOTE NO on Senate Bill 17. 

Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs Contact Information

Senator Arthur Orr, (334) 242-7891, arthur.orr@alsenate.gov

Senator Paul Bussman, (334) 242-7855, p_bussman@bellsouth.net

Senator Paul Sanford, (334) 242-7867, paul.sanford@alsenate.gov

Senator Phil Williams, (334) 242-7857, philw.williams@alsenate.gov

Senator Shay Shelnutt, (334) 242-7794, shay.shelnutt@alsenate.gov

Senator Linda Coleman, (334) 242-7864, linda.coleman@alsenate.gov

Senator Trip Pittman, (334) 242-7897, trip.pittman@alsenate.gov

Senator Clay Scofield, (334) 242-7876, clay.scofield@alsenate.gov

Senator Dick L. Brewbaker, (334) 242-7895, dick.brewbaker@alsenate.gov

Senator Jimmy W. Holley, Committee Chair, (334) 242-7845, jimmy.holley@alsenate.org

Senator Priscilla Dunn, Bill Sponsor, (334) 242-7793, priscilla.dunn@alhouse.org

The AKC supports reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who meet their responsibilities. The AKC opposes the concept of breeding permits, breeding bans, or mandatory spay/neuter of purebred dogs, specifically those based on the number of dogs owned or maintained. The AKC would not oppose legislation to regulate high-volume dog sellers who sell 50 or more dogs per year, provided that the regulations were reasonable and penalties for non-compliance were appropriate.

For questions or more information, please contact doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3645.