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ACT FAQS

Q: What is the minimum lead time for evaluators to request courses?

A: Minimum of 2 weeks but more time is appreciated. Evaluators send a request for pre-
designed courses to act@akc.org . Evaluators must include with their request the dimensions of
the course area, any obstructions (poles/jut outs/floor grates/etc.), gate locations, a list of
available equipment, and any other information that would be helpful. To request the use of a
dogwalk in ACT 2 requires at least 6,000 sq. ft. or more. A hand drawn picture of the course
area with gates shown, locations of poles or other such items with all the measurements on it
are very helpful. Phone photos or scans of the hand drawn picture can be sent along with the
request for courses. ACT courses are not to be used for training purposes but saved and used
only for testing.

Q: Who designs the courses?
A: Only Agility Field Reps and AKC approved agility judges. AKC approved agility judges send in
courses they have designed for review to act@akc.org .

Q: If someone completes their 2 Qs in ACT1/ ACT1J thus acquiring the ACT1/ACT1l title, can
they then show in ACT2/ACT2J that same day?
A:Yes

Q: If your dog is entered in all 8 runs (2 runs in ACT1/ACT1J & 2 runs in ACT2/ACT2J) at an
event, but only needs one ACT1/ACT1J leg, and qualifies, getting that leg from the first run,
can you still compete with that dog in the second ACT 1 run on that day?

A: Yes, you may continue to enter and run in ACT1/ACT1J with that dog until such time as that
dog has obtained one leg in ACT2/ACT2J, thus making your dog ineligible for ACT1/ACT1J any
longer. Your dog may continue to compete in ACT2/ACT2J until it has obtained a title in any AKC
class (T2B, Premier, Standard, Jumpers or FAST).

Q: Can someone skip ACT1/ACT1J and start right out in ACT2/ACT2J?
A: Yes

Q: Can someone choose to do one run in ACT1/ACT1J and one run in ACT2/ACT2J)?
A: Yes, but legs cannot be combined from ACT1/ACT1J & ACT2/ACT2J to earn any titles.

Q. If my dog and | have earned an ACT1/ACT1J and/or an ACT2/ACT2] title are we eligible for
Novice A if we meet the other requirements?

A: Yes, you can enter Novice A classes if you are otherwise eligible. ACT 1 or ACT 2 titles do not
exclude you from entering Novice A.
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Q: The Regulations for Novice A states, “dogs that have never acquired any AKC agility title”
so if a dog has 2 legs in Novice JWW and 1 leg in Novice Standard they can still run in the ACT
event?

A:Yes

Q: Can a dog wear a choke chain or martingale collar while taking the test?

A: No, the collar must be of the same type that is allowed in an AKC approved agility trial. If
there’s a question, ask the evaluator if it’s legal or not. The allowable collars are noted in the
Regulations for Agility in Chapter 4, Section 9.

Q: What kind of leash may | use for the test?
A: One that is legal to be used in an AKC approved agility trial. Please refer to Chapter 4, Section
10.

Q: Can a dog wear a harness while taking the test?
A: No

Q: Can a dog wear anything, such as booties, vet wrap, pants, or have medical stitches while
taking the test?
A: No

Q: Can a dog that has an ACT2 or ACT2]J title show in ACT1 or ACT1J?

A: If the dog has an ACT?2 title, but no ACT1J they are eligible to enter ACT1). The same goes
for if they have an ACT2J but no ACT1 title. If they ACT2 or ACT2J they can show in ACT 2/ACT2)
until they have obtained an AKC Novice Standard, Novice JWW, Novice FAST, Premier or Time 2
Beat title.

Q. If my dog and | have earned an ACT1/ACT1J and/or an ACT2/ACT2] title are we eligible for
Novice A if we meet the other requirements?

A: Yes, you can enter Novice A classes if you are otherwise eligible. ACT 1 or ACT 2 titles do not
exclude you from entering Novice A.

Q: Can | evaluate a dog that | am a co-owner of if it’s not living in my household?
A: No

Q: Can | evaluate someone such as a significant other, child, spouse, etc. and then just
give them an NQ so they can have the ACT experience?
A: No
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Q: If a dog/handler team is pre-entered in an ACT event and completes an agility title

prior to the ACT event, is the dog/handler still eligible to participate in the pre-entered

ACT event?

A: No, the dog / handler team may not compete in the pre-entered ACT event or any other ACT
event with that dog.

Q: Is the club/evaluator required to refund the entry fees if the dog becomes ineligible to
enter as noted in the question above after entering the ACT test?

A: The club/evaluator must refund all fees.
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