AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

Urgent NC Alert: Contact Your Representative To Oppose New Dog Ownership Restrictions

(Thursday, June 05, 2014)

Members of the NC House of Representatives are currently considering language in the legislative budget that would call for licensing and inspection of anyone who owns or co-owns just nine intact female dogs and/or cats.

The measure removes the state's Animal Welfare Act from the jurisdiction of the Department of Agriculture and places it under the supervision of the Department of Public Safety. The AKC strongly opposes moving this important section of law away from a department with expertise in animal care.

This transfer, combined with these extensive new regulations:

  • Creates unprecedented new levels of regulation of private property ownership
  • Labels owners of multiple dogs as "pet dealers" regardless of commercial or breeding activity
  • Places animals under the jurisdiction of an agency with little or no expertise in animal care
  • Would prove exorbitantly expensive for the state and taxpayers
  • Moves the AWA from the oversight of a department headed by an elected official to one headed by a political appointee

This proposal is based on a recommendation from Governor McCrory and was originally included in his budget. The Senate rejected these provisions when they considered and passed their version of the budget last week.

The House could vote on this at any time, so it is imperative that all NC residents contact their State Representative NOW and respectfully ask them to OPPOSE this new definition of "pet dealer" and the transfer of the Animal Welfare Act.

What You Can Do:

Contact Your State Representative NOW and respectfully ask them to OPPOSE the transfer of the AWA and the new pet dealer definitions and to keep those provisions OUT of the House version of the budget. To find the name and contact information for your State Representative, visit www.ncga.state.nc.us and then click on the "Who Represents Me?" link. We encourage you to e-mail and to call and leave a message.

Contact the House Appropriations Chairs and ask them to oppose these two provisions:
Rep. Nelson Dollar
919-715-0795
nelson.dollar@ncleg.net

Rep. Justin Burr
919-733-5908
Justin.Burr@ncleg.net

Rep. Bryan Holloway
919-733-5609
Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

Rep. Linda Johnson
919-733-5861
Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net

Rep. Pat McElraft
919-733-6275
Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net

Contact House Speaker Thom Tillis and ask him to not support these dangerous provisions:
Phone: 919-733-3451
E-mail: thom.tillis@ncleg.net

Contact the NC House Appropriations Subcommittee Chairs and ask them to OPPOSE these provisions:

Rep. Marilyn Avila

919-733-5530
Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net

Rep. Hugh Blackwell

919-733-5805
Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net

Rep. James Boles, Jr.

919-733-5903
Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net

Rep. William Brisson
919-733-5772
William.Brisson@ncleg.net

Rep. Rayne Brown
919-715-0873
Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net

Rep. George Cleveland
919-715-6707
George.Cleveland@ncleg.net

Rep. Leo Daughtry
919-733-5605
Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

Rep. John Faircloth

919-733-5877
John.Faircloth@ncleg.net

Rep. Mark Hollo
919-715-8361
Mark.Hollo@ncleg.net

Rep. D. Craig Horn

919-733-2406
Craig.Horn@ncleg.net

Rep. Julia Howard
919-733-5904
Julia.Howard@ncleg.net

Rep. Pat Hurley
919-733-5865
Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net

Rep. Donny Lambeth

919-733-5747
Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net

Rep. Chuck McGrady
919-733-5956
Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net

Rep. Tom Murry
919-733-5602
Tom.Murry@ncleg.net

Rep. Jason Saine
919-733-5782
Jason.Saine@ncleg.net

Rep. Phil Shepard
919-715-9644
Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net

Rep. Edgar Starnes
919-733-5931
Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

Rep. John Torbett
919-733-5868
John.Torbett@ncleg.net

Rep. Roger West
919-733-5859
Roger.West@ncleg.net