AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NC ACTION ALERT: Contact Officials Now to Let Them Know You Oppose HB 930

(Tuesday, June 18, 2013)
The AKC Government Relations Department (AKC GR) has learned that efforts are underway to push North Carolina’s State Senate to consider House Bill 930. The American Kennel Club (AKC) continues to OPPOSE HB 930 as currently written. It is of utmost importance that all concerned North Carolina residents contact the state officials (listed below) and urge them to not take HB 930 under further consideration.

THE PROBLEMS WITH HB 930: First, House Bill 930 seeks to regulate those who meet an arbitrary definition of “large commercial dog breeding facilities.” The definition would include individuals who own 10 or more female dogs regardless of whether they are actually breeding or selling dogs. The AKC believes that such definitions should focus on actual commerce, not only on possession of animals. Furthermore, the bill incorporates many of the provisions of AKC’s Care and Conditions of Dogs policy as a care requirement, but does not apply them to all North Carolina dogs. Instead, it seeks to apply them only to the dogs kept by the individuals who meet that arbitrary definition. The AKC believes that all North Carolina dogs deserve these protections.

WHAT YOU CAN DO TODAY: Call or email the officials listed below. Ask them to either oppose House Bill 930 as currently written, or remove all references to “large commercial dog breeders” so that all of North Carolina’s dogs can be entitled to basic standards of care.

(Please feel free to use this sample phone script and sample email text when contacting officials.)

  1. Contact all members of the Senate Agriculture, Environment, and Natural Resources Committee. This committee currently has cognizance of the bill. While HB 930 is currently not scheduled for a hearing by this committee, it would be first to consider it if efforts to promote the bill are successful. The easiest way to contact all members is by email to the Committee Co-Chairmen Senator Andrew Brock and Senator Brent Jackson while copying all committee members on the message.

    Co-Chairman Senator Andrew C. Brock
    Phone: (919) 715-0690
    Email: Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net

    Co-Chairman Senator Brent Jackson
    Phone: (919) 733-5705
    Email: Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net

    Vice Chairman Senator Bill Cook
    Phone: (919) 715-8293
    Email: Bill.Cook@ncleg.net

    Senator Austin M. Allran
    Phone: (919) 733-5876
    Email: Austin.Allran@ncleg.net

    Senator Chad Barefoot
    Phone: (919) 715-3036
    Email: Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net

    Senator Stan Bingham
    Phone: (919) 733-5665
    Email: Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net

    Senator Angela R. Bryant
    Phone: (919) 733-5878
    Email: Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net

    Senator Daniel G. Clodfelter
    Phone: (919) 715-8331
    Email: Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net

    Senator Joel D. M. Ford
    Phone: (919) 733-5955
    Email: Joel.Ford@ncleg.net

    Senator Fletcher L. Hartsell, Jr.
    Phone: (919) 733-7223
    Email: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net

    Senator Eleanor Kinnaird
    Phone: (919) 733-5804
    Email: Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net

    Senator Gene McLaurin
    Phone: (919) 733-5953
    Email: Gene.McLaurin@ncleg.net

    Senator Ronald J. Rabin
    Phone: (919) 733-5748
    Email: Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net

    Senator Bill Rabon
    Phone: (919) 733-5963
    Email: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net

    Senator Shirley B. Randleman
    Phone: (919) 733-5743
    Email: Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net

    Senator Tommy Tucker
    Phone: (919) 733-7659
    Email: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net

    Senator Trudy Wade
    Phone: (919) 733-5856
    Email: Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

    Senator Michael P. Walters
    Phone: (919) 733-5651
    Email: Michael.Walters@ncleg.net

  2. Contact your North Carolina State Senator. Visit http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/representation/WhoRepresentsMe.aspx to find the name and contact information of your North Carolina State Senator.

  3. Contact Governor Pat McCrory’s Office. His office may be reached by phone at (919) 814-2000, by fax at (919) 733-2120, or by an email form available at http://www.governor.state.nc.us/contact/email-pat. If you are on Twitter, send a message to @PatMcCroryNC, letting him know that you oppose HB 930 as written.

The American Kennel Club Government Relations Department will continue to closely monitor this legislation and provide more information as it becomes available. For more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720, or email doglaw@akc.org.