AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NY Update: Support Bill to End Breed Discrimination in Homeowners Insurance!

(Friday, June 14, 2013)

Assembly Bill 3952, which would prohibit insurance companies from denying, cancelling or raising premium rates for homeowners’ insurance based on the breed of dog owned by the policyholder, has passed the New York Assembly and is now pending in the Senate Insurance Committee.

All responsible dog owners and breeders in New York are encouraged to contact the Senate Insurance Committee and ask them to support Assembly Bill 3952. Scroll down for committee contact information. If you are a constituent, be sure to mention that when you contact them.

Summary:

Assembly Bill 3952 prohibits insurers from refusing to issue, renew or cancel or raise premiums for homeowners’ insurance based solely on breed of dog (or mixed-breed) owned by the policyholder. The bill does allow for insurance companies to take these actions if the dog has been declared dangerous based on current law.

New York state law already expressly prohibits municipalities from passing laws that target specific breeds of dogs. AKC GR supports A. 3952, which would ensure that the rights of dog owners are protected when obtaining homeowners’ insurance. At the same time, it does allow insurance companies to impose a “reasonably increased premium or rate” or to cancel or deny a policy if the applicant owns a dog that has been declared dangerous as defined in state law.

Talking Points:

Read the AKC’s policy position statement on “Dangerous Dog Control Legislation”

Read AKC’s one-page issue brief with talking points on breed-specific legislation

Click here for a sample letter to personalize

Contact Information for NY Senate Insurance Committee:

Senator James Seward (Chairman) (Oneonta/Herkimer/Cortland)
Phone: (518) 455-3131
E-mail:
seward@nysenate.gov

Senator Neil Breslin (Albany)
Phone: (518) 455-2225
E-mail:
breslin@senate.state.ny.us

Senator David Carlucci (Nanuet/Ossining)
Phone: 518-455-2991
Fax:
518-426-6737
E-mail: carlucci@nysenate.gov

Senator Adriano Espaillat (Manhattan-Upper West Side)
Phone: 518-455-2041
E-mail:
espailla@nysenate.gov

Senator John Flanagan (Smithfield)
Phone: 518-455-2071
E-mail:
flanagan@nysenate.gov

Senator Martin Golden (Brooklyn)
Phone: (518) 455-2730
E-mail:
golden@nysenate.gov

Senator Mark Grisanti (Buffalo)
Phone: 518-455-3240
E-mail:
grisanti@nysenate.gov

Senator Timothy Kennedy (Buffalo)
Phone: 518-455-2426
E-mail:
kennedy@nysenate.gov

Senator Andrew Lanza (Staten Island)
Phone: (518) 455-3215
Fax: (518) 426-6852
E-mail:
lanza@senate.state.ny.us

Senator William Larkin, Jr. (New Windsor)
Phone: (518) 455-2770
E-mail:
larkin@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Kenneth LaValle (Mount Sinai)
Phone: (518) 455-3121
E-mail:
lavalle@nysenate.gov

Senator Jack Martins (Garden City Park)
Phone: 518-455-3265
Fax: 518-426-6739
E-mail:
martins@nysenate.gov

Senator Ted O’Brien (Rochester)
Phone: (518) 455-2162
Fax: (518) 426-6925
E-mail:
obrien@nysenate.gov

Senator Thomas O’Mara (Elmira/Bath)
Phone: 518-455-2091
Fax: 518-426-6976
E-mail:
omara@nysenate.gov

Senator Kevin Parker (Brooklyn)
Phone: (518) 455-2580
Fax: (518) 426-6843
E-mail:
parker@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Jose Peralta (East Elmhurst)
Phone: (518) 455-2529
Fax: (518) 426-6909
E-mail:
jperalta@nysenate.gov

Senator Toby Ann Stavisky (Flushing)
Phone: (518) 455-3461
Fax: (518) 426-6857
E-mail:
stavisky@senate.state.ny.us

Senator David Valesky (Syracuse)
Phone: (518)-455-2838
Fax:
(518)-426-6885
E-mail:
valesky@nysenate.gov

Senator Catharine Young (Olean/Jamestown)
Phone: (518) 455-3563
Fax: (518) 426-6905
E-mail:
cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

AKC Government Relations will continue to closely monitor this legislation. For questions or more information, contact the AKC Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org