AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

CONNECTICUT ALERT: HB 6690 Assigned to New Committee, Take Action Now!

(Thursday, May 09, 2013)

The AKC Government Relations Department has learned that Connecticut House Bill 6690 (also now formally known as File No. 698), which seeks to create “animal advocates” in the state, has been assigned to the Joint Environment Committee. The American Kennel Club (AKC) is concerned with unintended consequences that may result from the legislation, including the possibility that individual ownership rights could be diminished in ways similar to states that have animal “guardianship” instead of animal “ownership”. All concerned dog owners in Connecticut are strongly encouraged to contact the members of the Joint Environment Committee, listed below, and let them know you oppose HB 6690/File No. 698 as currently written.

Click here to for details on HB 6690.

Click here for a customizable sample letter you can use in contacting the House Environment Committee in opposition to HB 6690.

Connecticut Joint Environment Committee

Mailing address:
Room 3200, Legislative Office Building
Hartford, CT 06106

Senator Edward Meyer, Co-Chair
Click here for a form to use when emailing Sen. Meyer.

Representative Linda M. Gentile, Co-Chair
Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov

Senator Andrew Maynard, Vice Chair
Click here for a form to use when emailing Sen. Maynard.

Representative James M. Albis
James.Albis@cga.ct.gov

Senator Clark Chapin, Ranking Member
clark.chapin@cga.ct.gov

Representative John Shaban, Ranking Member
john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Jay M. Case
jay.case@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Terry Backer
Terry.Backer@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mitch Bolinsky
mitch.bolinsky@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Timothy R. Bowles
Tim.Bowles@cga.ct.gov

Representative Cecilia Buck-Taylor
Cecilia.buck-taylor@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Paul Davis
Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mike Demicco
Mike.Demicco@cga.ct.gov

Representative John “Jack” F. Hennessy
Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Robert W. Megna
Robert.Megna@cga.ct.gov

Representative Lawrence G. “Larry” Miller
larry.miller@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Philip J. Miller
Philip.Miller@cga.ct.gov

Representative Craig A. Miner
craig.miner@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Edward E. Moukawsher
Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mary M. Mushinshy
Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov

Representative Tom O’Dea
tom.odea@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Kevin Ryan
Kevin.Ryan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Robert C. Sampson
rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Brian H. Sear
Brian.Sear@cga.ct.gov

Representative Diana S. Urban
Diana.Urban@cga.ct.gov

Representative Thomas A. Vicino
Tom.Vicino@cga.ct.gov

Representative Roberta B. Willis
Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Melissa H. Ziobron
Melissa.ziobron@housegop.ct.gov

The AKC will continue to provide updates on HB 6690 as developments become available. For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or email doglaw@akc.org.