AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NY Alert: Ask Senate to Support Bill Criminalizing Pet Theft from an Owner's Property!

(Friday, May 03, 2013)

New York Senate Bill 1495, which would criminalize pet theft, will be considered by the Senate Codes Committee on Wednesday, May 8.

New York dog owners are strongly encouraged to contact the members of the Senate Codes Committee, and your State Senator, and encourage them to support Senate Bill 1495! Scroll down for contact information.

Summary:

Current New York law declares that theft of certain property is grand larceny in the fourth degree. Senate Bill 1495 expands this to include a dog or cat taken from a dwelling, enclosure, or yard on the owner or custodian’s property.

While it does not address pets stolen when off the owner’s property, the AKC believes this is an excellent step that will provide law enforcement with an important tool to penalize those who steal pets from a person’s home or property.

What You Can Do:

Contact the members of the New York Senate Codes Committee and members of the New York Senate and ask them to support Senate Bill 1495.

To find the name and contact information for your State Senator, visit www.nysenate.gov and type your address in the “Find My Senator” box at the top of the page. Go to www.nysenate.gov/senators for a full list of New York Senators.

The Senate Codes Committee contact information is as follows:

Senator Michael Nozzolio (Chair)
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2366
Seneca Falls Office Phone:
(315) 568-9816
E-mail:
nozzolio@nysenate.gov

Senator Phil Boyle
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-3411
Babylon Office Phone: (631) 669-9200
E-mail form

Senator John DeFrancisco
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-3511
Syracuse Office Phone: (315) 428-7632
E-mail:
jdefranc@nysenate.gov

Senator Adriano Espaillat
Albany Office Phone: (518)455-2041
Manhattan Office Phone: (212) 544-0173
E-mail:
espailla@nysenate.gov

Senator John Flanagan
Albany Office Phone: (518)455-2071
Smithtown Office Phone: (631)361-2154
E-mail:
flanagan@nysenate.gov

Senator Charles Fuschillo, Jr.
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-3341
Massapequa Office Phone: (516) 882-0630
E-mail:
fuschill@nysenate.gov

Senator Patrick Gallivan
Albany Office Phone: 518-455-3471
Elma Office Phone:
(716) 656-8544
E-mail:
gallivan@nysenate.gov

Senator Martin Golden
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2730
Brooklyn Office Phone:
(718) 238-6044
E-mail:
golden@nysenate.gov

Senator Brad Hoylman
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2451
Manhattan Office Phone: (212) 633-8052
E-mail:
hoylman@nysenate.gov

Senator Andrew Lanza
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-3215
Staten Island Office Phone: (718) 984-4073
E-mail:
lanza@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Michael Nozzolio
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2366
Seneca Falls Office Phone: (315) 568-9816
E-mail:
nozzolio@nysenate.gov

Senator Ted O’Brien
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2162
Fairport Office Phone:
(585) 223-1800
E-mail:
obrien@nysenate.gov

Senator Thomas O’Mara
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2091
Elmira Office Phone: (607) 735-9671
E-mail:
omara@nysenate.gov

Senator Bill Perkins
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2441
Harlem Office Phone:
(212) 222-7315
E-mail:
perkins@senate.state.ny.us

Senator John Sampson
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2788
Brooklyn Office Phone:
(718) 649-7653
E-mail:
sampson@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Daniel Squadron
Albany Office Phone: (518) 455-2625
Manhattan Office Phone:
(212)298-5565
Brooklyn Office Phone:
(718) 875-1517
E-mail:
squadron@nysenate.gov

The AKC Government Relations Department (AKC GR) will continue to monitor this legislation and provide updates as they are available. For questions or more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.