AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

PA Animal Seizure Bill Advances to Senate Judiciary

(Thursday, October 11, 2012)

A problematic bill that would be detrimental to the rights of animal owners has overwhelmingly passed the Pennsylvania House of Representatives and been assigned to the Senate Judiciary Committee. This bill could force owners to permanently relinquish their animals when they are accused of cruelty, regardless of whether the charges are ultimately dismissed. Read AKC’s previous Legislative Alert for more information on House Bill 2409.

Responsible dog owners in Pennsylvania are strongly urged to contact both the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and their State Senator, and ask them to not support House Bill 2409 as currently written.

  • Click here to type in your address and find the name and contact information for your State Senator.
  • The Pennsylvania Senate Judiciary Committee contact information is as follows:

Sen. Steward J. Greenleaf, Chair (District 12)
Phone: (717) 787-9684
District Phone: (215) 657-7700
E-mail: sgreenleaf@pasen.gov

Sen. Mary Jo White, Vice Chair (District 21)
Phone: (717) 787-6599
District Phone: (814) 432-4345
E-mail: mwhite@pasen.gov

Sen. Daylin Leach, Minority Chair (District 17)
Phone: (717) 787-5544
District Phone: (610) 768-4200
E-mail Form

Sen. Joseph B. Scarnati III, ex-officio (District 25)
Phone: (717) 787-7084
District Phone: (814) 726-7201
E-mail: jscarnati@pasen.gov

Sen. Richard L. Alloway II (District 33)
Phone: (717) 787-4651
District Phone: (717) 264-6100
E-mail: alloway@pasen.gov

Sen. Lisa M. Boscola (District 18)
Phone: (717) 787-4236
District Phone: (610) 868-8667
E-mail: boscola@pasenate.com

Sen. Jane M. Earll (District 49)
Phone: (717) 787-8927
District Phone: (814) 453-2515
E-mail: jearll@pasen.gov

Sen. Lawrence M. Farnese, Jr. (District 1)
Phone: (717) 787-5662
District Phone: (215) 952-3121
E-mail form

Sen. John R. Gordner (District 27)
Phone: (717) 787-8928
District Phone: (570) 784-3464
E-mail: jgordner@pasen.gov

Sen. Vincent J. Hughes (District 7)
Phone: (717) 787-7112
District Phone: (215) 879-7777
E-mail: hughes@pasenate.com

Sen. Jeffrey E. Piccola (District 15)
Phone: (717) 787-6801
District Phone: (717) 896-7714
E-mail: jpiccola@pasen.gov

Sen. John C. Rafferty, Jr. (District 44)
Phone: (717) 787-1398
District Phone: (610) 831-8830
E-mail: jrafferty@pasen.gov

Sen. Michael J. Stack (District 5)
Phone: (717) 787-9608
District Phone: (215) 281-2539
E-mail: stack@pasenate.com

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will provide updates as they become available. For questions or more information, contact the Pennsylvania Federation of Dog Clubs at pennfedlaw@verizon.net or AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.