AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NY Alert: Ask Committee to Support Bill To Make Pet Theft a Grand Larceny

(Friday, March 09, 2012)

This Tuesday, March 13, the New York Senate Codes Committee will consider a bill to officially declare pet theft a crime of fourth degree grand larceny.

Responsible dog owners who reside or participate in events in New York are encouraged to contact the members of the Senate Codes Committee prior to the March 13 hearing and ask them to support this important legislation. Scroll down for contact information.

Summary:

Senate Bill 946 amends the state’s penal code to clarify that the definition of “property” includes a pet dog or cat taken from a dwelling, yard, or any enclosure on the owner’s or custodian’s property. This means that if someone steals a dog or cat from the property of either the owner or a caretaker (defined as someone providing the animal with food and water), then they will be charged with grand larceny in the fourth degree.

The American Kennel Club supports SB 946 and believes that those who commit pet theft should be held accountable under the law. Those who are victim of a pet theft should be afforded the same protection and compensation as when other valuable property is stolen. Read AKC’s letter to the Senate Codes Committee.

How You Can Help:

Contact the members of the Senate Codes Committee and respectfully ask them to support Senate Bill 946. The contact information for their offices in Albany is as follows (click on the name to view local office contact information):

Senator Stephen M. Saland (Chair)
Phone: (518)455-2411
E-mail: saland@nysenate.gov

Senator John A. DeFrancisco
Phone: (518) 455-3511
E-mail: jdefranc@nysenate.gov

Senator Thomas K. Duane
Phone: (518) 455-2451
E-mail: duane@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Adriano Espaillat
Phone: (518) 455-2041
E-mail: espailla@nysenate.gov

Senator John J. Flanagan
Phone: (518) 455-2071
E-mail: flanagan@nysenate.gov

Senator Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr.
Phone: (518) 455-3341
E-mail: fuschill@nysenate.gov

Senator Patrick M. Gallivan
Phone: (518) 455-3471
E-mail: gallivan@nysenate.gov

Senator Michael Gianaris
Phone: (518) 455-3486
E-mail: gianaris@nysenate.gov

Senator Martin J. Golden
Phone: (518) 455-2730
E-mail: golden@nysenate.gov

Senator Shirley L. Huntley
Phone: (518) 455-3531
E-mail: shuntley@nysenate.gov

Senator Andrew J. Lanza
Phone: (518) 455-3215
E-mail: lanza@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Michael F. Nozzolio
Phone: (518) 455-2366
E-mail: nozzolio@nysenate.gov

Senator Thomas F. O’Mara
Phone: (518) 455-2091
E-mail: omara@nysenate.gov

Senator Kevin S. Parker
Phone: (518) 455-2580
E-mail: parker@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Bill Perkins
Phone: (518) 455-2441
E-mail: perkins@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Daniel L. Squadron
Phone: (518) 455-2625
E-mail: squadron@nysenate.gov

AKC Government Relations (AKC GR) will provide more information as it becomes available. For questions or more information, contact AKC GR at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...