AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

MD Update: Guardianship Bill Hearing on March 1 at 1pm

(Thursday, February 23, 2012)

The Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee is scheduled to consider House Bill 912 on Thursday, March 1. This bill seeks to change the word "owner" to "guardian" in numerous places within state code, which would likely result in a dramatic restriction in the rights of dog owners and veterinarians to properly care for and protect dogs.

Read AKC's previous Legislative Alert for more details and talking points on House Bill 912.

Responsible dog owners who reside or participate in dog events in Maryland are encouraged to contact the members of the House Environmental Matters Committee and respectfully ask them to oppose House Bill 912. If possible, please also consider attending the March 1 hearing.

For more information, contact the Maryland Dog Federation at marylanddogfederation@yahoo.com or AKC Government Relations at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org.

Hearing Information:
Maryland House Environmental Matters Committee
Date: Thursday, March 1, 2012
Time: 1:00 p.m.**
Location: House Office Building, Room 250
Annapolis, MD 21401

** If you wish to testify, you must sign the witness register before the hearing begins. If you wish to submit written testimony, you must provide 40 copies no later than 11:50 a.m. The copies may be submitted in the hearing room.

House Environmental Matters Committee Contact Information:

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Phone: (410) 841-3990
E-mail: Maggie.McIntosh@house.state.md.us

Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: (410) 841-3378
E-mail: james.malone@house.state.md.us

Delegate Pamela G. Beidle
Phone: (410) 841-3370
E-mail: pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Phone: (410) 841-3205
E-mail: elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

Delegate Rudolph C. Cane
Phone: (410) 841-3427
E-mail: rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3638
E-mail: alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barbara A. Frush
Phone: (410) 841-3114
E-mail: barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

Delegate James W. Gilchrist
Phone: (410) 841-3744
E-mail: jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn
Phone: (410) 841-3257
E-mail: cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: (410) 841-3961
E-mail: anne.healey@house.state.md.us

Delegate Patrick Hogan
Phone: (410) 841-3240
E-mail: patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3310
E-mail: marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jay A. Jacobs
Phone: (410) 841-3449
E-mail: jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us

Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty
Phone: (410) 841-3487
E-mail: stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Herb McMillan
Phone: (410) 841-3211
E-mail: herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Doyle L. Niemann
Phone: (410) 841-3326
E-mail: doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

Delegate H. Wayne Norman, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3284
E-mail: wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell
Phone: (410) 841-3314
E-mail: anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles J. Otto
Phone: (410) 841-3433
E-mail: charles.otto@house.state.md.us

Delegate A. Shane Robinson
Phone: (410) 841-3021
E-mail: shane.robinson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Dana M. Stein
Phone: (410) 841-3527
E-mail: dana.stein@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cathleen M. Vitale
Phone: (410) 841-3510
E-mail: cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3328
E-mail: michael.weir@house.state.md.us

Delegate C.T. Wilson
Phone: (410) 841-3325
E-mail: ct.wilson@house.state.md.us


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...