AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

CA AB 241 to be Heard Again Senate Public Safety Committee - Opposition Needed!

(Wednesday, July 15, 2009)

The Senate Public Safety Committee will hold another hearing on AB 241 today after the adjournment of Senate floor session. Senator Steinberg was not present at the committee hearing earlier this week where the bill failed to pass on a 3-3 vote. Concerned dog owners are encouraged to contact the committee members are renew their opposition to the bill and to the fact that the lack of notice of this hearing is contrary to the democratic process.

Please thank Senators Benoit, Huff and Wright for their "No" votes Tuesday and ask them to continue to oppose the bill.

Senate Public Safety Committee Members:
Senator Mark Leno (Chair)
Phone:  (916) 651-4003
Fax:  (916) 445-4722
State Capitol, Room 4061
Sacramento, CA  95814
Senator.Leno@Senate.ca.gov

Senator John J. Benoit (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (916) 651-4037
Fax: (916) 327-2187
State Capitol, Room 4066
Sacramento, CA 95814
Senator.Benoit@Senate.ca.gov

Senator Gilbert Cedillo
Phone:  (916) 651-4022
Fax:  (916) 327-8817
State Capitol, Room 5100
Sacramento, CA  95814
Senator.Cedillo@Senate.ca.gov

Senator Loni Hancock
Phone: (916) 651-4009
Fax: (916) 327-1997
State Capitol, Room 3092
Sacramento, CA  95814
Senator.Hancock@Senate.ca.gov

Senator Robert Huff
Phone: (916) 651-4029
Fax: (916) 324-0922
State Capitol, Room 3048
Sacramento, CA 95814
Senator.Huff@Senate.ca.gov

Senator Darrell Steinberg
Phone:  (916) 651-4006
Fax:  (916) 323-2263
State Capitol, Room 205
Sacramento, CA  95814
Senator.Steinberg@Senate.ca.gov

Senator Roderick Wright
Phone: (916) 651-4025
Fax:  (916) 445-3712

State Capitol, Room 5064
Sacramento, CA 95814
Senator.Wright@Senate.ca.gov


CA AB 241 Fails in Senate Public Safety

California Assembly Bill 241, which would have prohibited dog breeders from owning more than 50 intact animals, failed on a 3-3 vote in the Senate Public Safety Committee yesterday. The bill was granted reconsideration and is eligible to be heard in 2010.

AKC thanks all our hardworking fanciers and responsible breeders and owners who took the time to educate their elected officials about this bill. We also thank Senators Rod Wright, John Benoit and Bob Huff for voting against AB 241.