AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Oklahoma Breeders Bill Heading for Conference Committee

(Tuesday, May 12, 2009)

House Bill 1332, which seeks to regulate Oklahoma dog breeders, is likely to be heard in conference committee in the next week. This is the last chance for this bill to be amended prior to being given a final vote. While a number of AKC’s concerns have been addressed, there are still some provisions we oppose, including:

  • Warrantless inspections of private property. As currently written, HB 1332 would allow for inspections of private property without notice or probable cause. The AKC urges the conference committee to amend the bill to require probable cause, inspections during normal business hours, and the presence of at least one representative of the kennel during the inspection.
  • Unspecified representation on the advisory committee. HB 1332 creates an advisory committee to govern kennel regulation. The AKC appreciates that the committee must now consist of four members representing the dog or cat breeding industry. We believe that this should include a member of the Oklahoma Animal Interest Alliance, which is the AKC’s recognized federation of responsible breeders, owners, fanciers, and enthusiasts in Oklahoma. We also believe this committee should include the interests of puppy buyers, represented by a consumer advocate.

It is essential that all concerned dog breeders in Oklahoma contact the members of the conference committee today and ask them to amend House Bill 1332.

Conference Committee Contact Information:

Representative Lee Denney (sponsor)
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 436
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7304
leedenney@okhouse.gov

Representative Lisa J. Billy
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 302-A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7365
lisabilly@okhouse.gov

Representative Daniel Sullivan
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 435
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7361
danielsullivan@okhouse.gov

Representative John Trebilcock
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 404
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7362
johntrebilcock@okhouse.gov

Representative Ken Miller
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 432-D
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7360
kenmiller@okhouse.gov

Representative Cory T. Williams
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 316
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7411
cory.williams@okhouse.gov

Representative Dennis Ray Bailey
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 324
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7363
dennis.bailey@okhouse.gov

Representative Scott Inman
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 319
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7370
scott.inman@okhouse.gov

Representative Brian Renegar
2300 B. Lincoln Blvd. Rm. 504
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-557-7381
brian.renegar@okhouse.gov

Senator Mike Johnson
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 519
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5592
johnsonm@oksenate.gov

Senator David F. Myers
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 414
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5628
ingraham@oksenate.gov

Senator Patrick Anderson
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 417A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5630
anderson@oksenate.gov

Senator Randy Bass
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 514B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5567
bass@oksenate.gov
Senator Brian Bingman
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 424
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5528
bingman@oksenate.gov

Senator Randy Brogdon
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 416
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5566
brogdon@oksenate.gov

Senator Kenneth Corn
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 531
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5576
cochran@oksenate.gov

Senator Brian A. Crain
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 417B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5620
crain@oksenate.gov

Senator Johnnie Crutchfield
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 533B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5607
(405) 530-2361 (fax)
bigger@oksenate.gov

Senator Mary Easley
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 429
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5590
easley@oksenate.gov

Senator John W. Ford
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 424A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5634
fordj@oksenate.gov

Senator Jay Paul Gumm
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 535A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5586
gumm@oksenate.gov

Senator Jim Halligan
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 520
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5572
halligan@oksenate.gov

Senator Ron Justice
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 423
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5537
justice@oksenate.gov

Senator Charlie Laster
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 522
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5539
laster@oksenate.gov

Senator Debbe Leftwich
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 533A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5557
holland@oksenate.gov

Senator Richard C. Lerblance
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 528B
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5604
lerblance@oksenate.gov

Senator Mike Mazzei
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 413
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5675
mazzei@oksenate.gov

Senator Susan Paddack
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 533
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5541
paddack@oksenate.gov

Senator Jim Reynolds
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 412
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5522
reynolds@oksenate.gov

Senator Gary Stanislawski
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 427A
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5624
stanislawski@oksenate.gov

Senator Anthony Sykes
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 426
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5569
lewis@oksenate.gov

Senator Jim Wilson
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 533C
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5574
wilson@oksenate.gov

Senator Glenn Coffee (Ex Officio)
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 422
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405.521.5799
405.530.2304 (fax)
coffee@oksenate.gov

Senator Todd Lamb (Ex Officio)
2300 N. Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 418
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-5632
lamb@oksenate.gov