AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NC ALERT: Senate Bill 460 Passes First Committee

(Thursday, April 30, 2009)

Senate Bill 460, a bill which regulates breeders and infringes on the rights of responsible dog owners, passed the North Carolina Senate Commerce Committee today. The bill now goes to the Senate Finance Committee. The Finance hearing could be scheduled for as early as next Tuesday. It is essential that responsible dog owners and breeders contact the Senate Finance Committee TODAY and ask them to oppose Senate Bill 460.

The American Kennel Club is appalled by the conditions in which some dogs are kept and abhors animal cruelty. Senate Bill 460, however, punishes responsible breeders and owners and does nothing to help the dogs kept in deplorable conditions. North Carolina already has laws that address animal cruelty and mistreatment.

The AKC opposes several other provisions of Senate Bill 460, including:

  • A vague definition of commercial breeder. As amended, SB 460 defines "commercial breeder” as anyone who owns or maintains at least 15 intact females of any age for the primary purpose of the sale of the offspring. This definition could include anyone who has bred even a single litter of puppies, including fanciers and show breeders.
  • Warrantless inspections of private property. The bill allows law enforcement and local animal control to search the homes and private property of anyone who falls under the definition of "commercial breeder”.
  • Directive for the NC Department of Agriculture to develop standards of care with no public input. SB 460 calls for the Department of Agriculture to develop care and condition policies for dogs belonging to commercial breeders. This does not allow for any input from dog breeders and others who are experts in animal care.

Additionally, the fiscal note attached to this bill states that this unnecessary measure would cost the state over $400,000 a year. At a time when the state is furloughing employees and facing a projected $3 billion budget gap, improved enforcement of existing laws would be a better investment for North Carolina.

How You Can Help:

  • Contact the members of the Senate Finance Committee TODAY. Tell the members of the committee that you oppose this bill, and urge them to oppose Senate Bill 460. The contact information is as follows:

Senator David Hoyle (Co-Chairman)
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 300-A
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5734
E-mail: David.Hoyle@ncleg.net

Senator Daniel Clodfelter (Co-Chairman)
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 408
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-8331
E-mail: Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net

Senator Clark Jenkins (Co-Chairman)
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 308
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-3040
E-mail: Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net

Senator Larry Shaw (Vice-Chairman)
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 311
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-9349
E-mail: Larry.Shaw@ncleg.net

Senator Fletcher Hartsell, Jr. (Vice-Chairman)
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 518
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-7223
E-mail: Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net

Senator Charles Albertson
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 523
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5705
E-mail: Charlie.Albertson@ncleg.net

Senator Austin Allran
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 516
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5876
E-mail: Austin.Allran@ncleg.net

Senator Tom Apodaca
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1127
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5745
E-mail: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

Senator Bob Atwater
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 312
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-3036
E-mail: Bob.Atwater@ncleg.net

Senator Philip Berger
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1026
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5708
E-mail: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

Senator Charlie Dannelly
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2010
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5955
E-mail: Charlie.Dannelly@ncleg.net

Senator Eleanor Kinnaird
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2115
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5804
E-mail: Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net

Senator Floyd McKissick, Jr.
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 621
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-4599
E-mail: Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net

Senator Joe Sam Queen
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1117
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-3460
E-mail: Joe.Queen@ncleg.net

Senator David Rouzer
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 520
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919)733-5748
E-mail: David.Rouzer@ncleg.net

Senator R.C. Soles, Jr.
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2022
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5963
E-mail: RC.Soles@ncleg.net

Senator Harris Blake
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 517
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-4809
E-mail: Harris.Blake@ncleg.net

Senator Julia Boseman
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 309
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-2525
E-mail: Julia.Boseman@ncleg.net

Senator Andrew Brock
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1119
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 715-0690
E-mail: Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net

Senator Harry Brown
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 521
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-3034
E-mail: Harry.Brown@ncleg.net

Senator Don East
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1120
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5743
E-mail: Don.East@ncleg.net

Senator Tony Foriest
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 411
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 301-1446
E-mail: Tony.Foriest@ncleg.net

Senator Linda Garrou
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 627
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5620
E-mail: Linda.Garrou@ncleg.net

Senator Eddie Goodall
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 332
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-7659
E-mail: Eddie.Goodall@ncleg.net

Senator Steve Goss
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1028
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5742
E-mail: Steve.Goss@ncleg.net

Senator Neal Hunt
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1102
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5850
E-mail: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net

Senator Martin Nesbitt, Jr.
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 300-B
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-3001
E-mail: Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net

Senator Jean Preston
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1121
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5706
E-mail: Jean.Preston@ncleg.net

Senator William Purcell
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 625
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5953
E-mail: William.Purcell@ncleg.net

Senator Tony Rand
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 300-C
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-9892
E-mail: Tony.Rand@ncleg.net

Senator Bob Rucho
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1118
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5655
E-mail: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

Senator Josh Stein
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 410
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919)715-6400
E-mail: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net

Senator Richard Stevens
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 406
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5653
E-mail: Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net

Senator A.B. Swindell
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 629
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 715-3030
E-mail: AB.Swindell@ncleg.net

Senator Jerry Tillman
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 628
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: (919) 733-5870
E-mail: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net

Senator David Weinstein
NC Senate
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2108
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
Phone: (919) 733-5651
E-mail: David.Weinstein@ncleg.net