AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NC Update: Senate Bill 460 Could be Heard this Week

(Tuesday, April 28, 2009)

The AKC Government Relations Department has learned that Senate Bill 460, which seeks to regulate breeders, could be heard in the Senate Commerce committee on Thursday, April 30, or early next week. It is essential that all North Carolina responsible dog owners and breeders contact the Senate Commerce Committee TODAY and express your opposition to Senate Bill 460.

The American Kennel Club opposes Senate Bill 460 as introduced. The bill infringes on the rights of responsible dog breeders in North Carolina, and would allow for warrantless inspections of private homes and property.

The AKC opposes the following provisions of SB 460 as introduced:

  • Defines "commercial breeder" as "any person who, during any 12-month period, maintains 15 or more adult female dogs for the primary purpose of the sale of their offspring as companion animals. However, neither terms "adult" nor "companion animals" are defined in the bill or statutorily, which makes this definition, as currently worded, vague. Additionally, the numerical threshold contained in the definition could reasonably affect many hunting and performance kennels in the Tarheel State.
  • Calls for the NC Board of Agriculture to develop standards of care, including exercise, veterinary care, housing, and record-keeping, at commercial breeding operations. However, these standards would be different from standards created for animal shelters, boarding kennels, and pet shops.
  • Limits those classified and licensed as commercial breeders to breeding dogs only between 18 months and eight years of age, without regard to alternative means of reproduction or the health of female dogs not falling into the prescribed age range.
  • Subjects commercial breeding operations to unannounced inspections, including potential warrantless searches of licensees’ homes. Denial of inspections/searches is ground for license revocation and seizure of dogs, regardless of the care being given to the dogs.

The North Carolina Animal Welfare Act, as provided in Article 3 of Chapter 19A of the North Carolina General Statutes, already effectively deals with animal abuse or mistreatment, making the substance of SB 460 unnecessary.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

  • Contact the members of the Senate Commerce Committee. Ask them to oppose Senate Bill 460.

Senate Commerce Committee Contact Information

Click on the committee member’s name to view the mailing address.

Sen. R.C. Soles, Jr. (Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-5963
E-mail: RC.Soles@ncleg.net

Sen. Floyd McKissick, Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-4599
E-mail: Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net

Sen. David Hoyle (Vice Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-5734
E-mail: David.Hoyle@ncleg.net

Sen. Tony Rand (Vice Chair)
Phone: (919) 733-9892
E-mail: Tony.Rand@ncleg.net

Sen. Tom Apodaca
Phone: (919) 733-5745
E-mail: Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

Sen. Philip Berger
Phone: (919) 733-5708
E-mail: Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

Sen. Doug Berger
Phone: (919) 715-8363
E-mail: Doug.Berger@ncleg.net

Sen. Harris Blake
Phone: (919) 733-4809
E-mail: Harris.Blake@ncleg.net

Sen. Julia Boseman
Phone: (919) 715-2525
E-mail: Julia.Boseman@ncleg.net

Sen. Peter Brunstetter
Phone: (919) 733-7850
E-mail: Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net

Sen. Debbie Clary
Phone: (919) 715-3038
E-mail: Debbie.Clary@ncleg.net

Sen. Katie Dorsett
Phone: (919)715-3042
E-mail: Katie.Dorsett@ncleg.net

Sen. Tony Foriest
Phone: (919) 301-1446
E-mail: Tony.Foriest@ncleg.net

Sen. James Forrester
Phone: (919) 715-3050
E-mail: James.Forrester@ncleg.net

Sen. Linda Garrou
Phone: (919) 733-5620
E-mail: Linda.Garrou@ncleg.net

Sen. W. Edward Goodall
Phone: (919) 733-7659
E-mail: Eddie.Goodall@ncleg.net

Sen. Steve Goss
Phone: (919) 733-5742
E-mail: Steve.Goss@ncleg.net

Sen. Malcolm Graham
Phone: (919) 733-5650
E-mail: Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net

Sen. Neal Hunt
Phone: (919) 733-5850
E-mail: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net

Sen. Jim Jacumin
Phone: (919) 715-7823
E-mail: Jim.Jacumin@ncleg.net

Sen. Clark Jenkins
Phone: (919) 715-3040
E-mail: Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net

Sen. Martin Nesbitt, Jr.
Phone: (919) 715-3001
E-mail: Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net

Sen. William Purcell
Phone: (919) 733-5953
E-mail: William.Purcell@ncleg.net

Sen. Bob Rucho
Phone: (919) 733-5655
E-mail: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

Sen. Larry Shaw
Phone: (919) 733-9349
E-mail: Larry.Shaw@ncleg.net

Sen. Josh Stein
Phone: (919)715-6400
E-mail: Josh.Stein@ncleg.net

Sen. Richard Stevens
Phone: (919) 733-5653
E-mail: Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net

Sen. Don Vaughan
Phone: (919)733-5856
E-mail: Don.Vaughan@ncleg.net

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...