AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

NC Update: Breeder Hearing Postponed

(Thursday, April 23, 2009)

Due to scheduling conflicts, the North Carolina House Agriculture Committee did not bring up discussion of House Bill 733 as originally planned on April 22, 2009. The Committee has not yet rescheduled the hearing of the bill.

House Bill 733 seeks to limit dog ownership and impose strict restrictions on responsible North Carolina breeders. It is very important that all North Carolina responsible dog owners and breeders continue to contact the House Agriculture Committee and ask them to oppose House Bill 733.

For more information on House Bill 733, please read AKC’s previous Legislative Alert.

The AKC thanks the dozens of breeders and fanciers who came to Wednesday’s hearing to oppose this legislation. Your presence made an impact!

How You Can Help:

  • Consider joining us at the North Carolina State Capitol for the next hearing. The AKC will provide more information as it becomes available. Please sign up for our Legislative Alerts to get the latest information.
  • Contact the members of the House Agriculture Committee. Politely ask them to oppose House Bill 733, which punishes responsible breeders in North Carolina.

House Agriculture Committee Contact Information:
Rep. Dewey Hill (Chairman)
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1309
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-733-5830
E-mail: dewey.hill@ncleg.net

Rep. Larry Bell (Vice Chair)
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 538
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5863
E-mail: Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

Rep. R. Van Braxton (Vice Chair)
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2219
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-715-3017
E-mail: Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

Rep. William Brisson (Vice Chair)
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1325
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-733-5772
E-mail: William.Brisson@ncleg.net

Rep. Bill Faison (Vice Chair)
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 611
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-715-3019
E-mail: Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

Rep. David Lewis (Vice Chair)
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 533
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-715-3015
E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net

Rep. Arthur Williams (Vice Chair)
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 637
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5906
E-mail: Arthur.Williams@ncleg.net

Rep. Cary Allred
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 503
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5905
E-mail: Cary.Allred@ncleg.net

Rep. Lorene Coates
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 633
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5784
E-mail: Lorene.Coates@ncleg.net

Rep. N. Leo Daughtry
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1013
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-733-5605
E-mail: Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

Rep. W. David Guice
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1015
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-715-4466
E-mail: David.Guice@ncleg.net

Rep. Bryan Holloway
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 502
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5609
E-mail: Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

Rep. James Langdon, Jr.
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 610
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5849
E-mail: James.Langdon@ncleg.net

Rep. Darrell McCormick
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1211
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-733-5654
E-mail: Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

Rep. Annie Mobley
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 638
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5780
E-mail: Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net

Rep. Edgar Starnes
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 602
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5931
E-mail: Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

Rep. Fred Steen II
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 514
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5881
E-mail: Fred.Steen@ncleg.net

Rep. Cullie Tarleton
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2221
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-733-7727
E-mail: Cullie.Tarleton@ncleg.net

Rep. Joe Tolson
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 307B2
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-715-3024
E-mail: Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

Rep. Russell Tucker
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 416B
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-715-3021
E-mail: Russell.Tucker@ncleg.net

Rep. Alice Graham Underhill
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1206
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Phone: 919-733-5853
E-mail: Alice.Underhill@ncleg.net

Rep. Edith Warren
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 416A
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-715-3023
E-mail: Edith.Warren@ncleg.net

Rep. Michael Wray
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 405
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Phone: 919-733-5662
E-mail: Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

We will continue to provide updates as they become available. For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720 or doglaw@akc.org. You may also contact the North Carolina Federation of Dog Clubs at NCDogClubs@Bellsouth.net.