AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

Featured Items

Update: Tennessee Breeders Bills to be Considered This Week

(Monday, April 20, 2009)

Committees in the Tennessee Legislature will hear companion bills that address dog breeding regulations in Tennessee. Senate Bill 258 will be considered by the Senate Commerce, Labor, and Agriculture Committee on Tuesday; its companion, House Bill 386 will considered by the House Judiciary Committee on Wednesday.

The AKC opposed provisions in the original version of this bill that would have:

  • Limited the number of dogs an individual may own
  • Implemented inspections of any premises without warrant or proving probable cause, where more than 20 intact companion animals over six months old are maintained
  • Permitted the Commissioner of Agriculture to confiscate animals and allow national humane organizations to house these animals.

The American Kennel Club Government Relations Department has recently learned that an amendment developed by the House Agriculture Committee that addresses the AKC’s concerns will be considered. The AKC is eager to work for measures that will address the issues without punishing responsible breeders and owners. We will continue to monitor this legislation and will provide more details and updates as they become available.

HOW YOU CAN HELP:

Attend the committee hearings on Tuesday and Wednesday. Alternatively, call, e-mail, or fax the committee members listed below. Express your support for reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of dogs without restricting the rights of owners and breeders who take their responsibilities seriously.

Details on the committees’ hearings are as follows:

SB 258 – Senate Commerce, Labor, and Agriculture Committee
Tuesday, April 21, 2009
1:00 PM
Legislative Plaza Room 12
Nashville, TN 37243

Sen. Paul Stanley, Chair
11 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-031
Phone (615) 741-3036
Fax (615) 741-1005
sen.paul.stanley@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Dewayne Bunch, Vice-Chair
9 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone (615) 741-3730
Fax (615) 253-0243
sen.dewayne.bunch@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Charlotte Burks, Secretary
304 War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243-0215
Phone (615) 741-3978
Fax (615) 741-8744
sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Mae Beavers
7 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0217
Phone (615) 741-2421
sen.mae.beavers@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Tim Burchett
306 War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243-0207
Phone (615) 741-1766
sen.tim.burchett@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Jack Johnson
10A Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0023
Phone (615) 741-2495
Fax (615) 253-0321
sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Bill Ketron
13 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0213
Phone (615) 741-6853
Fax (615) 741-7200
sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Eric Stewart
310A War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone (615) 741-6694
sen.eric.stewart@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Reginald Tate
320 War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243-0033
Phone (615) 741-2509
Fax (615) 253-0167
sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

HB 386 – House Judiciary Committee
Wednesday, April 22, 2009
8:30 AM
House Hearing Room 31
Nashville, TN 37243

Rep. Kent Coleman, Chair
32 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0149
Phone (615) 741-6829
Fax (615) 253-0332
rep.kent.coleman@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Jon Lundberg, Vice Chair
205 War Memorial Building
Nashville, TN 37243-0104
Phone (615) 741-7623
Fax (615) 253-0272
rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Janis Baird Sontany, Secretary
32 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0153
Phone (615) 741-6861
Fax (615) 253-0325
rep.janis.sontany@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Eddie Bass
109 War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville, TN 37243-0165
Phone (615) 741-1864
Fax (615) 741-1005
rep.eddie.bass@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Karen D. Camper
20 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0087
Phone: (615) 741-1898
rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Vance Dennis
105 War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-2190
Fax: (615) 253-0377
rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Henry Fincher
32 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243-0142
Phone (615) 741-1875
rep.henry.fincher@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Chad Faulkner
202 War Memorial Bldg.
Nashville TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-3335
rep.chad.faulkner@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Brian Kelsey
110 War Memorial Building
Nashville, TN 37243-0183
Phone (615) 741-4415
Fax (615) 253-0349
rep.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Judd Matheny
205 War Memorial Building
Nashville, TN 37243-0147
Phone (615) 741-7448
Fax (615) 253-0226
rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Mike Stewart
22 Legislative Plaza
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-2184
rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov

Rep. Eric Watson
205 War Memorial Building
Nashville, TN 37243-0122
Phone (615) 741-7799
Fax (615) 253-0252
rep.eric.watson@capitol.tn.gov

For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.