AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

New Hampshire Bill Restricting Sale of Litters to Be Heard February 11

(Tuesday, February 10, 2009)

The New Hampshire House Environment and Agriculture Committee is scheduled to hear House Bill 337 on Wednesday, February 11. This measure would prevent any dog owner from selling more than one dog or cat per year without a temporary license, which expires after 60 days.

The AKC urges all responsible dog owners, fanciers, and breeders in New Hampshire to attend the committee hearing on Wednesday to express respectful, but strong opposition to this bill. We also ask all New Hampshire residents to contact the sponsor of House Bill 337, the members of the Environment and Agriculture Committee, and their Representatives to express opposition to the bill.

The provisions of House Bill 337 are as follows:

  • Any dog or cat owner not engaged in the business of selling animals may not sell more than one dog or cat per year without a $25 temporary license.
  • The temporary license expires after 60 days.
  • No more than two temporary licenses may be issued in a year.
  • Any owner that violates this section must pay a fine between $50 and $200.
  • Persons and entities engaged in the business of selling animals, including commercial kennels (10 or more litters or more than 50 puppies per year) are exempt.
  • Fees from the temporary licenses and violations will be deposited in the Companion Animal Neutering Fund.

The American Kennel Club opposes the concept of breeding permits, breeding bans, and mandatory spay/neuter of purebred dogs. The AKC believes that numerical limits are difficult to enforce and do not address the underlying issues of responsible ownership and proper dog care. Instead, we support reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of purebred dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who take their responsibilities seriously.

What You Can Do:

  • The AKC strongly urges all responsible owners and breeders to attend the committee hearing on Wednesday and politely, yet strongly voice your opposition to this bill. The details are as follows:

February 11, 2009
10:30 a.m.
House Environment and Agriculture Committee
New Hampshire Legislative Office Building, Room 308
107 N. Main Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

  • Contact your State Representatives, as well as the members of the House Environment and Agriculture Committee and the bill’s sponsor, and politely voice your opposition to this measure.

Click here to contact your State Representatives.

If you do not know your Representatives, click here.

Bill Sponsor:
Carla Skinder
Phone: (603) 543-6895
E-mail: carla.skinder@leg.state.nh.us

Members of the House Environment and Agriculture Committee:

Tara Sad, Chair
Phone: (603) 321-1990
E-mail: tara.sad@leg.state.nh.us

Jane Beaulieu, Vice Chair
Phone: (603) 644-4800
E-mail: jane.beaulieu@leg.state.nh.us

Derek Owen
Phone: (603) 225-2252
E-mail: owen31@juno.com

Roger Beauchamp
Phone: (603) 225-2437
E-mail: roger.beauchamp@leg.state.nh.us

Susan Wiley
Phone: (603) 284-6990
E-mail: susan.wiley@leg.state.nh.us

Burton Williams
Phone: (603) 744-8797

Warren Groen
Phone: (603) 817-9353
E-mail: warren.groen@leg.state.nh.us

Peter Allen
Phone: (603) 827-5530

Steven Lindsey
Phone: (603) 547-7375
E-mail: steven.lindsey@leg.state.nh.us

Robert Haefner
Phone: (603) 930-8459
E-mail: bob.haefner@leg.state.nh.us

J. David Knox
Phone: (603) 569-2530
E-mail: jdknox@worldpath.net

Stephen Palmer
Phone: (603) 673-5272
E-mail: stephen.palmer@leg.state.nh.us

Leigh Webb
Phone: (603) 934-8222
E-mail: leigh.webb@leg.state.nh.us

Brian Poznanski
Phone: (603) 888-1543
E-mail: bpoznanski@anselm.edu

Irene Messier
Phone: (603) 622-9146

Laura Gandia
Phone: (603) 437-2933
E-mail: laura.gandia@leg.state.nh.us

Pamela Tucker
Phone: (603) 431-8982
E-mail: pamzt@comcast.net

Additional Resources:

  • For information on the benefits AKC dog breeders provide to a community, visit the following links:

AKC Canine Health Foundation
AKC "Above and Beyond"

  • For more information and tips on contacting your representative, please view the following AKC publications:

Disagree Diplomatically
Make Your Contact Count
Preparing for Action