AKC News

Press Center
More Headlines

New York Bill Will Impose Mandatory Microchipping and Enrollment in State Registry

(Monday, February 05, 2007)
New York State Assembly Bill 1677, introduced by Assemblyman Peralta, seeks to require all dogs over four months of age to be microchipped and registered with a new state-run registry. If passed and signed into law, these changes could have a significant impact on breeders and dog owners in New York. It is imperative that breeders and concerned dog owners contact their Assemblyman and the committee chairman to express their opposition.

As part of the American Kennel Club's ongoing efforts to promote responsible dog ownership, we encourage dog owners to properly identify their pets. We believe, however, that the final decision about identification—whether by collar, tattoo or microchip—should be made by the owner, not the government. Additionally, we believe that nationalized microchip enrollment is far superior to local or state registries. A significant portion of recoveries involve pets that have crossed state lines or passed from one area to another. Creating regionalized recovery systems will make consumers feel that they are protected in a state database. They will be less likely to enroll in a national database and the end result will inevitably be lost pets that are not properly reunited with their owners because of the disjointed nature of state/regional recovery systems.

The proposed set of laws would require that:
  • All dogs four months of age be microchipped.


  • All microchipped and/or licensed dogs be registered with a new state identification registry.


  • All microchips and stored information be compatible with scanners used by the State Department of Agriculture and Markets.


  • Violators of this bill be subject to fines of up to $100.
WHAT TO DO:

Contact the members of the New York Assembly Committee on Agriculture who will consider this bill.

Assemblyman William Magee, Chair
LOB 828
Albany, NY 12248
518-455-4807
mageew@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Marc S. Alessi
518-455-5294
alessim@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Darrel J. Aubertine
518-455-5545
aubertd@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michael Benedetto
518-455-5296
benedem@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Marc W. Butler
518-455-5393
butlerm@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Clifford W. Crouch
518-455-5741
crouchc@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Steven Cymbrowitz
518-455-5214
cymbros@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Francine DelMonte
518-455-5284
delmonf@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman RoAnn M. Destito
518-455-5454
destitr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Gary D. Finch
518-455-5878
finchg@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Aileen M. Gunther
518-455-5355
GuntheA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Steven Hawley
518-455-5811

Assemblywoman Barbara Lifton
518-455-5444
liftonb@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Alan Maisel
518-455-5211
maisela@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Margaret M. Markey
518-455-4755
markeym@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Roy McDonald
518-455-5404
mcdonar@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman John J. McEneny
518-455-4178
mcenenj@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Bob Reilly
518-455-5931
reillyr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Peter M. Rivera
518-455-5102
riverap@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Linda B. Rosenthal
518-455-5802
RosentL@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Paul D. Tonko
518-455-5197
tonkop@assembly.state.ny.us

To find your Assemblymember, click here.

For more information, contact AKC's Canine Legislation Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail at doglaw@akc.org.