AKC And Bayer K9 Advantix® Announce Winners Of Veterinary Technician Scholarships

AKC And Bayer K9 Advantix® Announce Winners Of Veterinary Technician Scholarships

Twenty-Five Vet Tech Students Awarded

New York, NY – The American Kennel Club® (AKC®) and Bayer K9 Advantix along with the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America (NAVTA), are pleased to announce the winners of the AKC/ Bayer K9 Advantix Veterinary Technician Scholarship.

Scholarships were awarded to 25 students from 24 U.S. accredited schools of veterinary technology. All twenty-five awards that were given are in the amount of $1,000.

The AKC has awarded annual scholarships to veterinary students since 1991 and since then expanded the program to include veterinary technicians.

“At Bayer, we know the importance of quality pet health, and the important role that veterinarian technicians play in providing excellent care and assistance to veterinarians, clients and most importantly their patients,” said  Fiona McLellan, Product Manager for K9 Advantix. “In honor of the vital roles veterinarian technicians play in the veterinary practice, laboratories and other institutions across the nation, Bayer is pleased to join AKC as a proud sponsor of the Veterinary Outreach Scholarship.”

“The AKC strives to assist the veterinary profession in providing the utmost care for all dogs,” said Debra Bonnefond, Director of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Program.  “We are delighted to be able to continue our backing and encouragement of these bright students and to be able to offer these scholarships to dedicated students who will ensure the continuing health of our beloved canines.”

“NAVTA is extremely fortunate to have AKC and Bayer provide this
exceptional scholarship opportunity for veterinary technology students from
around the country,” said Patrick Navarre, Executive Director, NAVTA. “The recipients of these awards will be able to continue to pursue their education.”

To be eligible, candidates must be current, full-time students at an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited Veterinary Technician school and be a NAVTA student member or a member of a NAVTA Student Chapter. Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, activities in the small animal, exotics, and research, and activities in NAVTA and SCNAVTA.

Additional information about the scholarships can be found on the AKC website at www.akc.org/vetoutreach as well as the NAVTA Web site at www.navta.net.

AKC/Bayer K9® Advantix Veterinary Technicians Scholarships 2007

  1. Karissa Anthony- North Dakota State University

  2. Leah Barrett- Tulsa Community College

  3. Beverly Baumgartner- Community College of Southern Nevada

  4. Lisa Blanchard- Macomb Community College

  5. Andrea Castro- Mercy College

  6. Claudia Carney- Harcum College

  7. Charles Cubbison- Community College of Denver

  8. Joseph D’Abbraccio- SUNY Delhi

  9. Kathryn Day- Yakima Valley Community College

  10. Carrie Dolak- Metropolitan Community College- Maplewoods

  11. Samantha Eppes- St. Petersburg College

  12. Christina Fraser- Mercy College

  13. Amanda Glover- NH Community Technical College Stratham

  14. Stacey Hafer- Long Technical College

  15. Marian Hayne- Morehead State University

  16. Jennifer Huseman- Wilson College

  17. Kristin Johnson- Pierce College- Ft. Steilacoom

  18. Lucy Kiovisto- Michigan State University

  19. Kristin Lineberry- College of Southern Idaho

  20. Katerina Marshall- Lincoln Memorial University

  21. Liza Marzban- Pierce College- Los Angeles

  22. Jennifer Payton-Parkland College

  23. Carla Smith- Gaston College

  24. Jodie Sparks- Community College of Baltimore County

  25. Mandy Taylor- Delgado Community College