URGENT NC UPDATE: Ask Conference Committee Members to Support Dogs by Opposing AWA and Amendment

URGENT NC UPDATE: Ask Conference Committee Members to Support Dogs by Opposing AWA and Dog Dealer Amendment

Last week, the North Carolina House approved amendments to the state budget that would be harmful to dogs and responsible North Carolina dog owners. 

Since the House and Senate have both passed different versions of the budget, a conference committee comprised of members of both chambers will develop a compromise.  The members of this committee are listed below. 

Please take a moment to contact these committee members.  Tell them you oppose the new definition of “pet dealer” that would require licensing and inspections based solely on the number of intact females someone owns – regardless of whether they are breeding.  Also let them know you oppose transferring oversight of the Animal Welfare Act from the Department of Agriculture to the Department of Public Safety. 

Read AKC’s fact sheet on these changes for talking points and more information. 

If you are a constituent, please be sure to mention that when contacting their office:  This will make a big difference to them.

Thank you for your efforts on these and previous communications.  Together, we can prevent legislation that would harm the future of dogs and responsible breeders.

Conference Committee Members:

Rep. Nelson Dollar, Chair (Wake County)

Phone:  919-715-0795
E-mail:  Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net

Rep. Linda Johnson, Chair (Cabarrus County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5861
E-mail: Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net

Rep. Bryan Holloway, Chair (Rockingham, Stokes Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5609
E-mail: Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

Rep. Justin Burr, Chair (Montgomery, Stanly Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5908
E-mail: Justin.Burr@ncleg.net

Sen. Harry Brown, Chair (Jones, Onslow Counties)
Phone:  (919) 715-3034
E-mail:  Harry.Brown@ncleg.net


Rep. Pat McElraft (Carteret, Jones Counties)Phone:  (919) 733-6275
E-mail: Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net

Rep. D. Craig Horn (Union County)
Phone:  (919) 733-2406
E-mail: Craig.Horn@ncleg.net

Rep. Chuck McGrady (Henderson County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5956
E-mail: Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net

Rep. Hugh Blackwell (Burke County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5805
E-mail: Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net

Rep. Marilyn Avila (Wake County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5530
E-mail: Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net

Rep. Mark Hollo (Alexander, Wilkes and Yadkin Counties)
Phone:  (919) 715-8361
E-mail: Mark.Hollo@ncleg.net

Rep. Donny Lambeth (Forsyth County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5747
E-mail: Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net

Rep. William Brisson (Bladen, Johnston and Sampson Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5772
E-mail: William.Brisson@ncleg.net

Rep. Roger West (Cherokee, Clay, Graham, and Macon Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5839
E-mail: Roger.West@ncleg.net

Rep. Tom Murry (Wake County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5602
E-mail: Tom.Murry@ncleg.net

Rep. N. Leo Daughtry (Johnston County)
Phone:  919-733-5605
E-mail:  Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

Rep. James Boles, Jr. (Moore County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5903
E-mail: Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net

Rep. John Faircloth (Guilford County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5877
E-mail: John.Faircloth@ncleg.net

Rep. Pat Hurley (Randolph County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5865
E-mail: Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net

Rep. George Cleveland (Onslow County)
Phone:  (919) 715-6707
E-mail: George.Cleveland@ncleg.net

Rep. Rayne Brown (Davidson County)
Phone:  (919) 715-0873
E-mail: Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net

Rep. John Torbett (Gaston County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5868
E-mail: John.Torbett@ncleg.net

Rep. Phil Shepard (Onslow County)
Phone:  (919) 715-9644
E-mail: Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net

Rep. Jason Saine (Lincoln County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5782
E-mail: Jason.Saine@ncleg.net

Rep. David Lewis (Harnett County)
Phone:  (919) 715-3015
E-mail: David.Lewis@ncleg.net

Rep. Tim Moore (Cleveland County)
Phone:  919-733-4838
E-mail:  Tim.Moore@ncleg.net

Sen. Tom Apodaca (Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5745
E-mail:  Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

Sen. Phil Berger (Guilford, Rockingham Counties)
Phone:  919-733-5708
E-mail:  Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

Sen. Andrew Brock (Davie, Iredell, and Rowan Counties)
Phone:  (919) 715-0690
E-mail:  Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net

Sen. Kathy Harrington (Gaston County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5734
E-mail: Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net

Sen. Ralph Hise (Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, and Yancey Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-3460
E-mail: Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net

Sen. Neal Hunt (Wake County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5850
E-mail: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net

Sen. Brent Jackson (Duplin, Johnston, and Sampson Counties)
Phone:  919-733-5705
E-mail:  Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net

Sen. Wesley Meredith (Cumberland County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5776
E-mail: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net

Sen. Louis Pate (Lenoir, Pitt, and Wayne Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5621
E-mail: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net

Sen. Bill Rabon (Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, and Pender Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5963
E-mail: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net

Sen. Shirley Randleman (Stokes, Surry, and Wilkes Counties)
Phone:  919-733-5743
E-mail:  Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net

Sen. Bob Rucho (Mecklenburg County)
Phone:  (919) 733-5655
E-mail: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net

Sen. Dan Soucek (Allegheny, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, and Watauga Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5742
E-mail: Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net

Sen. Jerry Tillman (Moore, Randolph Counties)
Phone:  (919) 733-5870
E-mail: Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net

Sen. Tommy Tucker (Union County)
Phone:  (919) 733-7659
E-mail: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net