Changes to New Orleans Ordinance to be Voted On Thursday, March 7

Tomorrow, the New Orleans City Council will consider revisions to its animal ordinances. The...

Tomorrow, the New Orleans City Council will consider revisions to its animal ordinances.

The American Kennel Club (AKC) appreciates the time that the Governmental Affairs Committee of the Council has spent listening to the many groups and constituents that expressed concerns with the proposal since its introduction.  However, after careful analysis of a new version of the proposal, the AKC remains deeply concerned with one part of the proposal will make it difficult for AKC clubs to conduct events in the City.

Specifically, section 18-87 provides an exception from the permit, fee, and insurance requirements for “exhibitions” (including dog events) conducted by 501(c)(3) organizations registered with the Secretary of State.  However, many AKC-affiliated clubs that may wish to conduct their events in the City of New Orleans may maintain a different non-profit tax status—usually,  501(c)(4) or (c)(7).  As such, those clubs would not be able to qualify for the exception to the permitting requirement.  This is important because the permitting requirement still, contrary to AKC’s long-expressed concerns, requires the applicant for the exhibition permit to furnish veterinary health certificates for animals to be exhibited prior to the issuance of the permit.  Because dogs that compete in AKC shows are owned by individual owners that often come from outside of the immediate area, it would not be possible for clubs to comply with this requirement.  The AKC believes that a better solution is to expand the exemption to any type of 501(c) organization.

 

The AKC encourages all area residents who share this concern to contact the members of the New Orleans City Council, and respectfully urge them amend the proposal

Councilwoman Stacy Head, Council President
Phone: (504) 658-1060
Fax: (504) 658-1068
shead@nola.gov

Councilwoman Jacquelyn Brechtel Clarkson, Council Vice President
Phone: (504) 658-1070
Fax: (504) 658-1077
jbclarkson@nola.gov

Councilwoman Susan G. Guidry, Ordinance Sponsor
Phone: (504) 658-1010 
Fax: (504) 658-1016
sgguidry@nola.gov

Councilwoman LaToya Cantrell
Phone: (504) 658-1020
Fax: (504) 658-1025
lcantrell@nola.gov

Councilwoman Kristin Gisleson Palmer 
Phone: (504) 658-1030
Fax: (504) 658-1037
kgpalmer@nola.gov

Councilwoman Cynthia Hedge-Morrell 
Phone: (504) 658-1040
Fax: (504) 658-1048
chmorrell@nola.gov

Councilman James Austin Gray II
Phone: (504) 658-1050
Fax: (504) 658-1058
jagray@nola.gov

 

For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or email doglaw@akc.org