WI Commercial Breeder/Consumer Protection Bills To Be Considered Thursday

Wisconsin Senate Bill 308 and Assembly Bill 567 will be considered at a joint public hearing of the...

Wisconsin Senate Bill 308 and Assembly Bill 567 will be considered at a joint public hearing of the Senate Committee on Small Business, Emergency Preparedness, Workforce Development, Technical Colleges and Consumer Protection, and the Assembly Committee on Consumer Protection and Personal Privacy. The hearing will take place this Thursday, January 10th, at 11AM, in Room 417 North (GAR Hall) of the State Capitol in Madison. Substitute versions of the bills will be considered. All concerned breeders and owners are encouraged to express their concerns with the bills.

The American Kennel Club supports reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of purebred dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who take their responsibilities seriously. Additionally, we support reasonable laws and regulations that are intended to protect the pet-buying public in obtaining a sound dog of the breed represented.

If adopted, the substitute versions of the proposed legislation would:

  • Classify those who sell at least 50 dogs in a year as "commercial dog breeders." Such persons will be subject to:

    • licensing requirements;

    • annual reporting requirements;

    • rules promulgated by the Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection regarding minimum standards of care, engineering standards for facilities, and transportation standards;

    • and investigations, inspections, and penalties.

  • Require any seller to provide remedies to a puppy buyer if the puppy becomes ill.

  • Mandate that any seller must also furnish a written description of the remedies provided to purchasers under this bill.

 

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

Contact the members of the committees that will consider these bills and voice your concerns with the bills as written:

Assembly Committee on Consumer Protection and Personal Privacy:

Representative Thomas Lothian, Chairman
Room 306 North
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-1190
Fax: (608) 282-3632
Rep.Lothian@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Brett Davis, Vice-Chairman
Room 308 North
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-1192 or (888) 534-0080
Fax: (608) 282-3680
Rep.Davis@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative John Townsend
Room 22 West
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8953
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-3156 or (888) 529-0052
Fax: (608) 282-3652
Rep.Townsend@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Samantha Kerkman
Room 103 West
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-2530 or (888) 534-0066
Fax: (608) 282-3666
Rep.Kerkman@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Jeffrey Mursau
Room 18 North
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8953
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-3780
Fax: (608) 282-3636
Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative David Cullen
Room 216 North
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 267-9836 or (888) 534-0013
Fax: (608) 282-3613
Rep.Cullen@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Peggy Krusick
Room 128 North
State Capitol
P.O. box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-1733
Fax: (608) 282-3607
Rep.Krusick@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Christine Sinicki
Room 321 West
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8953
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-8588 or (888) 534-0020
Fax: (608) 282-3620
Rep.Sinicki@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Andy Jorgensen
Room 412 North
State Capitol
P.O. Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
Phone: (608) 266-3790
Rep.Jorgensen@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senate Committee on Small Business, Emergency Preparedness, Workforce Development, Technical Colleges, and Consumer Protection:

Senator Robert Wirch, Chairman
Room 317 East
State Capitol
P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
Phone: (608) 267-8979 or (888) 769-4724
Fax: (608) 267-0984
Sen.Wirch@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Tim Carpenter, Vice-Chairman
Room 306 South
State Capitol
P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
Phone: (608) 266-8535 or (888) 249-8173
Fax: (608) 282-3543
Sen.Carpenter@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Jeffrey Plale
Room 313 South
State Capitol
P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
Phone: (608) 266-7505
Fax: (608) 266-7483
Sen.Plale@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Neal Kedzie
Room 126 South
State Capitol
P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
Phone: (608) 266-2635
Fax: (608) 282-3551
Sen.Kedzie@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senate Carol Roessler
Room 19 South
State Capitol
P.O. Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
Phone: (608) 266-5300 or (888) 736-8720
Fax: (608) 266-0423
Sen.Roessler@legis.wisconsin.gov

For more information, contact AKC's Canine Legislation Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.