URGENT: Attention NC Fanciers!

Following a recent telephone call from Co-Chairman Howard, the AKC is strongly urging purebred...

Following a recent telephone call from Co-Chairman Howard, the AKC is strongly urging purebred dog owners and clubs in North Carolina to refrain from submitting additional correspondence to members of the committee, including e-mails. We further believe that continued correspondence may actually hinder the progress we have made to date.

North Carolina legislators have been very cooperative with the purebred dog fancy in the past several weeks, and we believe our concerns are being addressed. As we await release of draft legislation on April 6th, we ask that fanciers remain patient and respectful of the committee's work. Please share the message that dog owners should not make further contact with the committee at this time.

AKC will provide additional updates as information becomes available. In the meantime, concerned fanciers should continue to remain active and alert. If you or your club is interested in attending and/or making a public comment at the meeting on April 6th, contact Bob Peters, President, Confederacy of North Carolina Dog Clubs (formerly Confederacy of Tail Waggers) {bob@bpdsonline.com}.

 

[Wednesday, March 3, 2004]

Since learning that their legislators were considering breeder permits and mandatory spay/neuter for all companion animals across the state, North Carolina fanciers have been quick to voice their opposition. Responding to numerous e-mails and phone calls on the issue, members of the House Interim Committee on the Prevention and Disposition of Unwanted and Abandoned Companion Animals invited representatives from the AKC to participate in a work session in Raleigh on March 2nd.

The meeting was very productive, and lawmakers seem committed to addressing the dog fancy's concerns as they begin drafting legislation. The first version of their bill will be made available to the public at the Committee meeting on April 6th in the Legislative Office Building, Room 544. The meeting begins at 10 a.m. Dog owners are welcome to attend, and public comments will be taken.

The Canine Legislation department is encouraged by the progress that has been made over the past few weeks, and we commend both fanciers and legislators for their efforts to address the state's animal care and control problems. However, continued help is needed to ensure that proposed legislation remains fair and reasonable to responsible dog owners and breeders.

 

What You Can Do:

  • Contact the legislative members of the House Interim Committee on the Prevention and Disposition of Unwanted and Abandoned Companion Animals. Thank them for their efforts to work with the purebred dog community, and politely urge them to oppose any mandatory spay/neuter and breeder permit recommendations from final proposed legislation.

 

Members of the Committee:
Rep. Julia Howard (919/733-5904, Juliah@ncleg.net) {Co-Chair}
Rep. Dewey Hill (919/733-5830, Deweyh@ncleg.net) {Co-Chair}
Rep. Cary Allred (919/733-5878, Carya@ncleg.net)
Rep. Alice Bordsen (919/733-5820, Aliceb@ncleg.net)
Rep. Becky Carney (919/733-5900, becky@ncleg.net)
Rep. Walter Church, Sr. (919/733-5805, Waltc@ncleg.net)
Rep. Michael Decker (919/733-5988, Miked@ncleg.net)
Rep. Rick Eddins (919/733-5800, Ricke@ncleg.net)
Rep. Maggie Jeffus (919/733-5191, Maggiej@ncleg.net)
Rep. Linda Johnson (919/733-5757, Lindajo@ncleg.net)
Rep. Carolyn Justice (919/733-5905, Carolynju@ncleg.net)
Rep. William McGee (919/715-3009, Williamm@ncleg.net)
Rep. Louis Pate, Jr. (919/715-0873, Louisp@ncleg.net)
Rep. Drew Saunders (919/733-5606, Drews@ncleg.net)
Rep. William Wainwright (919/733-5995, Williamw@ncleg.net)
Rep. Keith Williams (919/715-1883, Keithw@ncleg.net)

  • Contact the Confederacy of North Carolina Dog Clubs (formerly Confederacy of Tail Waggers). This re-energized federation is coordinating attendance and speakers for the April 6th meeting. For more information, contact Bob Peters, President (bob@bpdsonline.com).

  • Continue to monitor AKC's Web site regularly for future updates.

 

For additional information on this or other legislative issues, contact the Canine Legislation department (doglaw@akc.org, 919-816-3720).