Updated: Final Draft of NC Legislation Released

On April 22nd, the North Carolina House Interim Committee on the Prevention and Disposition of...

On April 22nd, the North Carolina House Interim Committee on the Prevention and Disposition of Unwanted and Abandoned Companion Animals gave final approval to this legislation (see link below). The bill will next be introduced in the House of Representatives when it convenes on May 10th, where the measure will be assigned to a committee. Please watch our Web site for further information as it becomes available.

The final draft of proposed changes to North Carolina's animal care and control laws has now been released to the public. The AKC is pleased to report that in response to concerns from purebred dog owners and other animal organizations, legislators have made further improvements to the bill by eliminating a requirement that municipalities enact differential licensing fees in order to qualify for low-cost spay neuter reimbursement.

A final version of the bill will be presented to the full Committee for a vote on April 22. The approved language will then be introduced in the House of Representatives when the General Assembly convenes on May 10th. AKC will continue to monitor and provide updates on this bill as it moves through the General Assembly, so please visit our Web site regularly.

Congratulations once again to everyone who is working to ensure that North Carolina legislation pertaining to dogs is reasonable, enforceable and non-discriminatory. AKC greatly appreciates your efforts, and we urge you to thank the members of the House Interim Committee for their continued interest in the purebred dog fancy's concerns.

Members of the North Carolina House Interim Committee on the Prevention and Disposition of Unwanted and Abandoned Companion Animals:

Rep. Julia Howard (919/733-5904, Juliah@ncleg.net) {Co-Chair}
Rep. Dewey Hill (919/733-5830, Deweyh@ncleg.net) {Co-Chair}
Rep. Cary Allred (919/733-5878, Carya@ncleg.net)
Rep. Alice Bordsen (919/733-5820, Aliceb@ncleg.net)
Rep. Becky Carney (919/733-5900, becky@ncleg.net)
Rep. Walter Church, Sr. (919/733-5805, Waltc@ncleg.net)
Rep. Michael Decker (919/733-5988, Miked@ncleg.net)
Rep. Rick Eddins (919/733-5800, Ricke@ncleg.net)
Rep. Maggie Jeffus (919/733-5191, Maggiej@ncleg.net)
Rep. Linda Johnson (919/733-5757, Lindajo@ncleg.net)
Rep. Carolyn Justice (919/733-5905, Carolynju@ncleg.net)
Rep. William McGee (919/715-3009, Williamm@ncleg.net)
Rep. Louis Pate, Jr. (919/715-0873, Louisp@ncleg.net)
Rep. Drew Saunders (919/733-5606, Drews@ncleg.net)
Rep. William Wainwright (919/733-5995, Williamw@ncleg.net)
Rep. Keith Williams (919/715-1883, Keithw@ncleg.net)

For more information, contact the Canine Legislation department (919-816-3720, doglaw@akc.org).