UPDATE: NY Assembly Pet Dealer Bill Not To Be Considered This Session!

AKC's Government Relations Department is pleased to report that New York Assembly Bill 11509 will...

AKC's Government Relations Department is pleased to report that New York Assembly Bill 11509 will not be considered by the Assembly Agriculture Committee for the remainder of the 2008 legislative session. This was confirmed today by the office of Assemblyman William Magee, chairman of the Assembly Agriculture Committee.

The Government Relations Department would like to congratulate and thank those who voiced their opposition to the bill and ensured that the rights and liberties of responsible dog breeders and owners will be respected in the legislative process.

 

Damaging New York Bill To Be Rushed Through Legislature! Voice Your Opposition Now!

[Monday, June 16, 2008]

New York Assembly Bill 11509, a bill which proposes to dramatically change “pet dealer” laws in New York, will be considered by the NY Assembly Agriculture Committee in an “off the floor” meeting, tomorrow, Tuesday, June 17th. Agriculture Committee staff report that an “off the floor” meeting means that no formal hearing will be conducted and no public comment will be accepted. The Committee will simply attempt to move the bill to the full Assembly for a vote prior to their summer recess, which is currently scheduled for June 23rd. THEREFORE, IT IS IMPERATIVE THAT ALL CONCERNED DOG BREEDERS AND OWNERS IN NEW YORK IMMEDIATELY E-MAIL AND CALL THE MEMBERS OF THE ASSEMBLY AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE AND THEIR ELECTED ASSEMBLY MEMBER AND RESPECTFULLY EXPRESS YOUR STRONG OPPOSITION TO THIS OVERBEARING AND UNREASONABLE BILL.

The American Kennel Club opposes the concepts of breeding permits, breeding bans, or mandatory spay/neuter of purebred dogs. Instead, we support reasonable and enforceable laws that protect the welfare and health of purebred dogs and do not restrict the rights of breeders and owners who take their responsibilities seriously.

AB 11509 proposes to massively change New York’s Agriculture and Market Law by:

  • Changing the definition of “pet dealer” to include anyone who engages in the sale or offering for sale of animals for profit to the public and keeps on their premises more than four intact female dogs six months of age or older for the purpose of breeding. (This is in addition to the already existing “pet dealer” classification threshold of those who engage in the sale or offering for sale of more than nine animals per year for profit to the public.)

  • Removing the existing “hobby breeder” exception, which currently provides that a breeder who sells directly to the consumer fewer than 25 animals per year born and raised on the breeder’s residential premises shall not be considered a pet dealer.
  • Imposing record-keeping requirements.

  • Mandating that all pet dealers allow their veterinarians to release the health information of their dogs to the Commissioner of Agriculture.

  • Removing the existing lower-cost “hobby breeder” license fee.

  • Adjusting the pet dealing license fee costs to a graduated system based on previous year’s sales.

 

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

It is vital that all concerned New York dog breeders and owners contact the members of the Assembly Agriculture Committee, along with their elected Assembly member, and express their vehement opposition to this bill. (To find your Assembly Member’s contact information, click here.)

Assembly Agriculture Committee Members:

Hon. William Magee, Chairman
LOB 828
Albany, NY 12248
518-455-4807
mageew@assembly.state.ny.us


Assemblyman Marc S. Alessi
518-455-5294
alessim@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman George Amedore
518-455-5197
AmedoreG@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michael Benedetto
518-455-5296
benedem@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Marc W. Butler
518-455-5393
butlerm@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Clifford W. Crouch
518-455-5741
crouchc@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Francine DelMonte
518-455-5284
delmonf@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman RoAnn M. Destito
518-455-5454
destitr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Gary D. Finch
518-455-5878
finchg@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Tim Gordon
518-455-5777
GordonT@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Aileen M. Gunther
518-455-5355
GuntheA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Steven Hawley
518-455-5811
Hawleys@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Barbara Lifton
518-455-5444
liftonb@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Peter D. Lopez
518-455-5363
lopezp@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Alan Maisel
518-455-5211
maisela@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Margaret M. Markey
518-455-4755
markeym@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman John J. McEneny
518-455-4178
mcenenj@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Bob Reilly
518-455-5931
reillyr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Peter M. Rivera
518-455-5102
riverap@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Linda B. Rosenthal
518-455-5802
RosentL@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Al Stirpe
518-455-4505
StirpeA@assembly.state.ny.us

 

For more information, contact AKC’s Government Relations Department at (919) 816-3720, or e-mail doglaw@akc.org.