Tennessee—Dog Breeder Regulations Added to Another Bill, Contact Committee Today

The American Kennel Club has been advised that Senate Bill 283 will be amended to include "commercial dog breeder regulations". We understand the amendment will be proposed for approval by the Senate Commerce and Labor Committee on Tuesday, March 14, at 1:30 p.m.

The American Kennel Club has been advised that Senate Bill 283 will be amended to include "commercial dog breeder regulations". We understand the amendment will be proposed for approval by the Senate Commerce and Labor Committee on Tuesday, March 14, at 1:30 p.m.

Concerned dog owners are urged to immediately contact committee members and respectfully ask that they do not advance any amendments regarding dog breeding until impacted citizens have the opportunity to review and comment on them. See contact information, below.

The AKC understands that the amendment to Senate Bill 283 will contain language similar to Senate Bill 282, which seeks to regulate, inspect, and require payment of unknown fees by owners of 10 intact female dogs "kept for the purpose of breeding". Under this bill, a person who owns 10 intact females and sells a single puppy could be regulated as a “commercial” breeder.  

Amended language has not been shared with stakeholders or posted to the state legislative website for review and comment by the citizens who would be affected by this legislation. 

What you can do:

Contact committee members and respectfully ask them to vote “no” on any bill that is amended to include dog breeder regulation.  

Sen. Jack Johnson, Chair, (615) 741-2495, sen.jack.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Mark Green, 1st Vice Chair, (615) 741-2374, sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Kerry Roberts, 2nd Vice Chair, (615) 741-4499, sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Dolores R. Gresham, (615) 741-2368, sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Bill Ketron, (615) 741-6853, sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Reginald Tate, (615) 741-2509, sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Jim Tracy, (615) 741-1066, sen.jim.tracy@capitol.tn.gov 

Sen. Bo Watson, (615) 741-3227,sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov

Sen. Ken Yager, (615) 741-1449, sen.ken.yager@capitol.tn.gov

For more information, please contact AKC Government Relations at doglaw@akc.org or 919-816-3645.

AKC Most Popular
Dog Names
Female puppy Male puppy